Home > IPCC-45

45th Session of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC-45)

28-31 March 2017 | Guadalajara, Mexico

Highlights for Wednesday, 29 March 2017

Download ENB Meeting Report


Receive our ENB bulletins and reports by email:


Photo Usage Information
CoverageAbout | 28 Mar | 29 Mar | 30 Mar | 31 Mar | Summary

A view of Guadalajara from the venue

On Wednesday morning, the Panel discussed the Strategic Planning Schedule and began its consideration of the outline of the Special Report on climate change, desertification land degradation, sustainable land management, food security, and greenhouse gas fluxes in terrestrial ecosystems (SR2). Discussions continued in the afternoon, following which the SR2 Scientific Steering Committee convened to incorporate comments and suggestions made by Panel members into a refined outline.

In the afternoon, the Panel also began its consideration of the outline of the Special Report on climate change, oceans and the cryosphere (SROCC).

A lunchtime briefing was held on SR2.

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, provided daily web coverage from IPCC-45. In addition, IISD Reporting Services has published a summary and analysis report in HTML and PDF.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Diego Noguera
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page


Abdalah Mokssit, IPCC Secretary

Kerstin Stendahl, IPCC Deputy Secretary

Christian Müller, Germany

Working Group III Co-Chair Jim Skea

Farhan Akhtar, US

Andrew Ferrone, Luxembourg

Abdullah Tawlah, Saudi Arabia

Valérie Masson-Delmotte, Working Group I Co-Chair

Juste Boussienguet, Gabon

Hans-Otto Pörtner, Working Group II Co-Chair

Éric Brun, France

Ephraím Mwepya Shítíma, Zambia

Ramanlal Bhatt Jaivardhan, India

(L-R): Lena Lindström and Markku Rummukainen, Sweden

Isabel Di Carlo Quero, Venezuela

(L-R): José Romero, Switzerland; Raphaël Cuvelier, Fondation Prince Albert II de Monaco; and Andreas Fischlin, Switzerland

Yun Gao, China

Nicolás Zambrano, Ecuador

Helen Plume, New Zealand

Laura Kuttner, Austria

Oyvind Christophersen, Norway

Qingchen Chao, China

Participants engage in deliberations

Moussa Labo, Niger

Kenneth Kerr, Trinidad and Tobago

Hana Hamadalla, Sudan

Svitlana Krakovska, Ukraine

Thelma Krug, IPCC Vice-Chair and Chair of the Scientific Steering Committee for the 1.5°C Special Report (center)

Tina Christensen, Denmark

Eric Seyama, Swaziland

Antonio Cañas Calderón, El Salvador

Noureddine Yassaa, Working Group I Vice-Chair

The dais during the afternoon session

Javier Gutiérrez, Nicaragua

Syed Atif Raza, Pakistan

Helen Mitchell, Australia

Iris Jiménez, Mexico

Delegates consult informally

Delegates from Saudi Arabia

A view of the dais during the lunchtime briefing on the the Special Report on climate change, oceans and the cryosphere

Chinese interpreters during the afternoon session

Around the Venue

The Chinese delegation

CoverageAbout | 28 Mar | 29 Mar | 30 Mar | 31 Mar | Summary

IISD Reporting Services is grateful to the many donors of the Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) and recognizes the following as core contributors to the ENB: the European Union, the Government of Switzerland (the Swiss Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN)), the Italian Ministry for the Environment, Land and Sea, and the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. General Support for the Bulletin during 2017 is provided by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (BMUB), the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, SWAN International, the Finnish Ministry for Foreign Affairs and the Japanese Ministry of Environment (through the Institute for Global Environmental Strategies - IGES).