Home > IPCC-45

45th Session of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC-45)

28-31 March 2017 | Guadalajara, Mexico

Highlights for Friday, 31 March 2017

Download ENB Meeting Report


Receive our ENB bulletins and reports by email:


Photo Usage Information
CoverageAbout | 28 Mar | 29 Mar | 30 Mar | 31 Mar | Summary

Hoesung Lee, IPCC Chair

On Friday, the Panel adopted decisions agreeing to the outlines of the Special Report on climate change, desertification, land degradation, sustainable land management, food security, and greenhouse gas fluxes in terrestrial ecosystems (SR2) and the Special Report on climate change and oceans and the cryosphere (SROCC).

The Panel also adopted a decision on the IPCC Trust Fund Programme and Budget and agreed on the terms of reference for the Ad Hoc Task Group on the Financial Stability of the IPCC.

The Panel agreed that IPCC-46 will convene in Montreal, Canada, during the first week of September 2017.

IPCC-45 closed at 5:07 pm.

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, provided daily web coverage from IPCC-45. In addition, IISD Reporting Services has published a summary and analysis report in HTML and PDF.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Diego Noguera
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page


Delegates meet for the final day of IPCC-45

Oyvind Christophersen, Norway

Ko Barrett, IPCC Vice-Chair

Eleonora Cogo, Italy, and Jakub Gibek, Poland

Syed Atif Raza, Pakistan

Martine Vanderstraeten, Belgium

Ramanlal Bhatt Jaivardhan, India

Miles Perry, European Union (EU)

Abdullah Tawlah, Saudi Arabia

Abdelfatah Shibani, Libya

Yun Gao, China

Kenneth Kerr, Trinidad and Tobago

Snaliah Mahal, Saint Lucia

Nicolás Zambrano, Ecuador (center)

Arthur Rolle, Bahamas

The dais during the afternoon session

Antonio Cañas Calderón, El Salvador

Marie-Hélène Tusseau, France

Mirivololona Raholijao, Madagascar

Murukesan Krishnapillai, Federated States of Micronesia

Frank McGovern, Ireland, and Eleonora Cogo, Italy

Celso Pazos Alberdi, Cuba

Javier Gutiérrez, Nicaragua

Silvia Ribeiro, ETC Group

Thelma Krug, IPCC Vice-Chair and Chair of the Scientific Steering Committee for the 1.5°C Special Report

Helen Plume, New Zealand

(L-R): Andrew Ferrone, Luxembourg; Florin Vladu, UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC); and Kerstin Stendahl, IPCC Deputy Secretary

(L-R): Hayden Montgomery, Global Research Alliance on Agricultural Greenhouse Gases; Kiyoto Tanabe, Co-Chair, IPCC Task Force on National Greenhouse Gas Inventories (TFI); and Martial Bernoux, UN Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)

Trigg Talley, US, and José Romero, Switzerland

Yun Gao, China, and Syed Atif Raza, Pakistan

Andrej Kranjc, IPCC Task Force on National Greenhouse Gas Inventories (TFI), and Elena Kosolapova, ENB

(L-R): Andy Reisinger, Working Group III Vice-Chair; Jesbin Baidya, IPCC Secretariat; and Youba Sokona, IPCC Vice-Chair

The dais during the press conference after the end of the session

(L-R): Jean-Pascal van Ypersele, Belgium; Eric Seyama, Swaziland; Nasimjon Rajabov, Tajikistan; and José Romero, Switzerland

Hoesung Lee, IPCC Chair, with the Mexican delegation

Hoesung Lee, IPCC Chair, and Murukesan Krishnapillai, Federated States of Micronesia

Oksana Ekzarkho, IPCC Seretariat

Around the Venue

CoverageAbout | 28 Mar | 29 Mar | 30 Mar | 31 Mar | Summary

IISD Reporting Services is grateful to the many donors of the Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) and recognizes the following as core contributors to the ENB: the European Union, the Government of Switzerland (the Swiss Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN)), the Italian Ministry for the Environment, Land and Sea, and the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. General Support for the Bulletin during 2017 is provided by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (BMUB), the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, SWAN International, the Finnish Ministry for Foreign Affairs and the Japanese Ministry of Environment (through the Institute for Global Environmental Strategies - IGES).