Home > IPCC-46

46th Session of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC-46)

6-10 September 2017 | Headquarters of the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), Montreal, Canada

Highlights for Sunday, 10 September 2017

Download ENB Meeting Report

Report: English Français 日本語
Subscribe to ENB Photo Usage Information
Daily Web CoverageAbout | 6 Sep | 7 Sep | 8 Sep | 9 Sep | 10 Sep | Summary
Delegates during the lunch break

View of the dais during the plenary session

On Sunday morning, 11 September 2017, the IPCC Working Groups (WGs) II and III concluded their work on the report outlines. The IPCC Plenary then convened in the afternoon and evening, the Panel approved the WG outlines and addressed background, cross-cutting issues and the AR6 Synthesis Report, as well as alignment of the IPCC cycle and the global stocktake under the UNFCCC. The Panel also admitted 12 new observer organizations; heard reports from the Conflict of Interest Committee (COI), and took up various other agenda items. The Panel also agreed to establish a task group on alignment of the IPCC with the global stocktake, holding an expert meeting on short-lived climate forcers (SLCFs), and holding its next Plenary meeting next spring in Paris, France. IPCC-46 closed at 8:31 pm.

The Earth Negotiations Bulletin summary and analysis of IPCC-46 will be available on Wednesday, 13 September 2017, online at: http://enb.iisd.org/climate/ipcc46/

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage and will a summary and analysis report from IPCC-46, which is available in HTML and PDF.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Mike Muzurakis
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

Plenary Session

Hoesung Lee, IPCC Chair

Thelma Krug, IPCC Vice-Chair

Youba Sokona, IPCC Vice-Chair

Pirkko Heikinheimo, Finland

José Romero, Switzerland

Working Group I Co-Chair Valérie Masson-Delmotte, France

Jean-Pascal van Ypersele, Belgium

Sophie Schlingemann, IPCC Secretariat

Christian Müller, Germany

Jakub Gibek, Poland

Abdalah Mokssit, IPCC Secretary

Eduardo Calvo Buendía, Co-Chair, Task Force on National Greenhouse Gas Inventories (TFI)

Renata Negrelly Nogueira, Brazil

Éric Brun, France

Hyun-kyung Kim, Republic of Korea

Working Group II

From L-R: Melinda Tignor, Head of WGII TSU; Elvira Poloczanska, WGII TSU Director of Science; Co-Chair Debra Roberts, South Africa; Co-Chair Hans-Otto Pörtner, Germany; and Katja Mintenbeck, WGII TSU Science Officer

Co-Chair Debra Roberts, South Africa

Co-Chair Hans-Otto Pörtner, Germany

Farhan Akhtar, US

Susanna De Beauville-Scott, Saint Lucia

Andrew Ferrone, Luxembourg

Abdullah Tawlah, Saudi Arabia

Alice Alpert, US, with Eric Seyama, Swaziland

Annela Anger-Kraavi, Estonia, with Jakub Gibek, Poland

Maesela Kekana, South Africa, discussing with Farhan Akhtar, US

From L-R: Leila Mead, IISD Reporting Services; María Gutiérrez, IISD Reporting Services; and José Romero, Switzerland

Working Group II Bureau group photo

Working Group III

View of the dais during the Thirteenth Session of Working Group III

Working Group III Vice-Chair Andy Reisinger, New Zealand

Working Group III Co-Chair Jim Skea, UK

Øyvind Christophersen, Norway

Jolene Cook, UK

Frank McGovern, Ireland

Working Group III Vice-Chair Ramón Pichs-Madruga, Cuba

Arthur Rolle, Bahamas

Working Group III Bureau group photo

Press Conference

From L-R: Jonathan Lynn, Head, Communications and Media Relations, IPCC Secretariat; WG II Co-Chair Hans-Otto Pörtner, Germany; WG II Co-Chair Debra Roberts, South Africa; Hoesung Lee, IPCC Chair; WG I Vice-Chair Gregory Flato, Canada; WG III Vice-Chair Ramón Pichs-Madruga, Cuba; and Abdalah Mokssit, IPCC Secretary

Jonathan Lynn, Head, Communications and Media Relations, IPCC Secretariat

Hoesung Lee, IPCC Chair

WG I Vice-Chair Gregory Flato, Canada

WG II Co-Chair Debra Roberts, South Africa

WG III Vice-Chair Ramón Pichs-Madruga, Cuba

WG II Co-Chair Hans-Otto Pörtner, Germany

Around the Venue

Jonathan Lynn, Head, Communications and Media Relations, IPCC Secretariat, with Hoesung Lee, IPCC Chair

Isabel Di Carlo Quero, Venezuela, and Abdullah Tawlah, Saudi Arabia

Daily Web CoverageAbout | 6 Sep | 7 Sep | 8 Sep | 9 Sep | 10 Sep | Summary
Specific funding for coverage of IPCC-46 has been provided by the European Union (EU)

IISD Reporting Services is grateful to the many donors of the Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) and recognizes the following as core contributors to the ENB: the EC and the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. General Support for the Bulletin during 2017 is provided by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (BMUB), Italian Ministry for the Environment, Land and Sea, Japanese Ministry of Environment (through the Institute for Global Environmental Strategies - IGES), New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Swedish Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Government of Switzerland (Swiss Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN)), and SWAN International. Funding for translation of the Bulletin into French has been provided by the Government of France, Québec, and the International Organization of La Francophonie/Institute for Sustainable Development of La Francophonie (IOF/IFDD).

Receive ENB reports directly in your inbox

Remind me: