Go to IISD's website

IISD Reporting Services - Linkages
bringing you the latest news, information and analysis from
international environment and sustainable development negotiations

Appointments, Departures




Media Reports

Comings and Goings

Upcoming Meetings

New publications and
online resources

Links to other resources

Return to Linkages Site





This page was updated on: 12/10/10

ARCHIVES | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 |


Deputy Executive Director of UN-HABITAT Appointed

UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon has appointed Aisa Kirabo Kacyira (Rwanda) as Deputy Executive Director and Assistant Secretary-General for the UN Human Settlements Programme (UN-HABITAT). She succeeds Inga Björk-Klevby (Sweden). More.


Tributes Extended for Wangari Maathai, Founder of Green Belt Movement

26 September 2011: Wangari Maathai, founder of the Green Belt Movement in Kenya, passed away on 25 September 2011. Maathai was awarded the 2004 Nobel Peace Prize for her work in environmental sustainability and empowerment of women, the first time a Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to an environmentalist. The Green Belt Movement, founded in 1977, encouraged women in rural Kenya to plant trees in order to improve their livelihoods and reverse the effects of deforestation. According to a statement from the UN Environment Programme (UNEP), Maathai also was the inspiration behind and a patron of UNEP's Billion Tree Campaign, which has led to the planting of 11 billion trees since 2006. Maathai was appointed by UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon as a UN Messenger of Peace and a member of the Millennium Development Goals (MDG) Advocacy Group. [UN News Release]


WMO Secretary-General Elected Chair of UN-Water

The Secretary-General of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), Michel Jarraud, has been elected as the Chair of UN-Water for a two-year term. The election took place during UN-Water's 15th meeting in Stockholm. UN-Water coordinates the work of 28 UN agencies on issues relating to fresh water and was established in 2003 to maximize coordination and integration across the UN. More.

Leading Energy Research Scientist Lee Schipper Passes Away

A leading scientist in the field of energy research, Lee Schipper, died on 16 August 2011. Schipper was scheduled to serve as review editor for the IPCC fifth Assessment Report's Transport chapter. Among other positions, he was co-founder of the International Energy Study Group at the US Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and founded EMBARQ, the World Resources Center for Sustainable Transport. More.


Ban Ki-moon Appointed to Second Term as UN Secretary-General

Acting on the recommendation of the Security Council, the UN General Assembly, on 21 June 2011, unanimously appointed UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon for a second five-year term beginning 1 January 2012. More information

New FAO Director-General Elected

On 26 June 2011, at the Conference of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN (FAO), José Graziano da Silva (Brazil) was elected Director-General, succeeding Jacques Diouf (Senegal). Since 2006, Graziano da Silva has been the FAO Assistant Director General and the Regional Representative for Latin America and the Caribbean. Graziano da Silva will be the FAO's eighth Director-General, and his term will run from 1 January 2012-31 July 2015. More information.

New IMO Secretary-General Elected

Koji Sekimizu (Japan) has been elected as the Secretary-General of the International Maritime Organization (IMO), with effect from 1 January 2012 and for an initial term of four years. The vote took place during the 106th session of the IMO Council, which is being held from 27 June-1 July 2011. The Council decision will be submitted to the IMO Assembly for approval when it meets for its 27th session from 21-30 November 2011. Sekimizu is currently Director of IMO's Maritime Safety Division. He will succeed IMO Secretary-General Efthimios E. Mitropoulos (Greece). More information.

New UNEP Deputy Executive Director Appointed

UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon has announced the appointment of Amina Mohamed (Kenya) as Assistant Secretary-General and Deputy Executive Director of the UN Environment Programme (UNEP). Mohamed, who will succeed Angela Cropper (Trinidad and Tobago), will be responsible for further advancing the UNEP Medium Term Strategy and related reform agenda, as well as strengthen UNEP's input to the UN Conference on Sustainable Development (UNCSD or Rio+20) and beyond. More.

Jarraud Reappointed as WMO Secretary-General

The World Meteorological Congress has reappointed Michel Jarraud for a four-year term as the Secretary-General of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO). Jarraud has been Secretary-General since 2004. He was appointed Deputy Secretary-General in 1995. More.

New REN21 Executive Secretary Appointed

The Renewable Energy Global Policy Network for the 21st Century (REN21) steering committee has appointed Christine Lins as its new Executive Secretary, to be effective on 1 July 2011. Lins will succeed Virginia Sonntag-O'Brien, who will be moving on to help build the new UN Environment Programme (UNEP) Centre for Climate and Sustainable Energy Finance at Frankfurt School of Finance and Management. More.


Lenten Named CMS Deputy Executive Secretary

Bert Lenten has announced that he is stepping down as Executive Secretary of the UN Environment Programme (UNEP)/African-Eurasian Waterbird Agreement (AEWA) under the Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals (CMS), to take up a new post as CMS Deputy Executive Secretary. Marco Barbieri took over the role of Acting Executive Secretary of the AEWA Secretariat as of 2 May 2011. More


Joint Executive Secretary of Basel, Stockholm and Rotterdam Conventions Takes Office

The UN Environment Programme (UNEP) has appointed Jim Willis (US) as the Joint Executive Secretary of the Basel, Stockholm and Rotterdam Conventions. He took office on 18 April 2011. Willis has served as Director of the Chemical Control Division with the US Environmental Protection Agency, and previously as Director of the UNEP Chemicals Branch, including as Executive Secretary of the Rotterdam and Stockholm Conventions Secretariats. [More Information]


Next IEA Executive Director Selected

11 March 2011: The International Energy Agency (IEA) Governing Board has selected Maria van der Hoeven (Netherlands) to succeed Nobuo Tanaka as IEA Executive Director, beginning 1 September 2011. Van der Hoeven served as Minister of Economic Affairs of the Netherlands from February 2007 until October 2010, and previously as Minister of Education, Culture and Science from 2002 to 2007. During both terms as Minister, she presided as Deputy Chair of the Netherlands Innovation Platform. As Minister of Economic Affairs, energy policy was one of her core responsibilities. [IEA Press Release]

If you would like to submit details of
recent appointments or departures,
send a message to
Diego Noguera, IISD

up to top