go to IISDnet
12th Meeting of the Parties to the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer
Ouagadougou; 11-14 December 2000

Thursday, 14 December, 2000

On the final day of MOP-12 delegates presented country statements, the Ouagadougou Declaration was presented and accepted, and closing remarks were heard from Fidèle Hien, Minister of the Environment and Water of Burkina Faso and MOP-12 President Michael Catelin.
L to R: Sabogal Nelson, Roberto Stadthagen-Vogl, Michael Graber, Michael Catelin,  Theodore Kapiga, K.M. Sarma

Daily Reports


Multimedia archive

Previous days' photos and RealAudio

* To view PDF files, you will need the free Adobe Acrobat Reader:
In the morning, country statements were heard.  Norway called on he shipping industry -- a heavy user of ODS-based equipment -- to embrace the goals of the Montreal Protocol. 

Delegates focused on the text of the proposed Ougadougou Declaration as Rapporteur and MOP-11 President Roberto Stadthagen-Vogl presented each paragraph for acceptance.
The Ouagadougou Declaration was presented at the closing Plenary, and accepted by acclamation.

Fidèle Hien, Minister of the Environment and Water of Burkino Faso, gave a farewell address.  He thanked delegates for their hard work in completing the Ouagadougou Declaration, and the country of Burkina Faso for its hospitality in hosting the meeting.

MOP-12 President Michael Catelin thanked K.M. Sarma (right) for his continued service to the Ozone Secretariat.

At the meeting's end, the ENB team continued its work.

ENB Summary of MOP11 and of OEWG-20
Linkages Ozone page
Secretariat web site with official documents and information for participants
click to top 

� 2000, IISD. All rights reserved.

| Linkages home | E-Mail |