Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google Plus

12th Meeting of the Conference of the Parties
to the Ramsar Convention on Wetlands (COP12)

2-9 June 2015 | Punta del Este, Uruguay

Highlights for Saturday, 6 June 2015

Download ENB Meeting Reports

Curtain Raiser
3 June
4 June
5 June
6 June
8 June

Receive our ENB bulletins and reports by email:


Photo Usage Information
Natural Resources Policy & Practice

Receive emailed updates with the news articles above plus related information and announcements from our NATURAL RESOURCES community mailing lists:

Choose Mailing List:
Enter Email Address:
Daily CoverageIntro | 2 Jun | 3 Jun | 4 Jun | 5 Jun | 6 Jun | 7 Jun | 8 Jun | 9 Jun | Summary
Conrad Hotel


On Saturday, 6 June, plenary met throughout the day to consider the remaining draft resolutions on the Ramsar COP12 agenda: proposed new framework for the delivery of scientific and technical advice and guidance on the Convention; wetlands and disaster risk reduction; the status of Sites on the Ramsar List of Wetlands of International Importance; regional initiatives 2016-2018 in the framework of the Ramsar Convention; conservation of Mediterranean Basin island wetlands; evaluating and ensuring the effective management and conservation of Ramsar Sites; and the Standing Committee's responsibilities, roles and composition, and regional categorization of countries. Friends of the President groups on the strategic plan and on peatlands met throughout the day. The Standing Committee finance sub-group met at lunchtime and in the evening. A contact group on Ramsar wetland city accreditation, and the appointees to the incoming Standing Committee 2015-2018 met in the evening.


Dais during plenary

Ruamsub Kaneda, Thailand

Jari Ilmonen, Finland

Kathleen Kutschenreuter, United States

Sibylle Vermont, Switzerland

Victor Fenchuk and Natalya Minchenko, Belarus

Mehri Asnaashari, Iran

Abdou Salam Kane, Senegal

Talia Cruz Castañeda, Mexico

Delegates during plenary

Jean-Christophe Henry, Senegal

Propan Tongsom, Thailand

Adèle Veerabadren, France

Elizabeth S. Hess, Canada

Macarena Mo Umpierre and Maria Ximena Alvarez, Uruguay

Manjula Amararathna and D. Ratnayake, Sri Lanka

Ali Jaber Atiyarl, Iraq

Brijesh Sikka, India

Luz Marina Mantilla and Laura Bemudez, Colombia

Jan-Petter Huberth Hansen, Norway

Katerina Stilogianni, Greece

Christine Prietto, Australia

Gerald Jetony, Malaysia

Belda Mosepele, Botswana

Delegates consulting during lunch time

The Japanese delegation

Eleonore Vermont, IISDRS digital editor trainee, Switzerland

Elisa Morgera, IISDRS Team Leader, Italy, Soledad Aguilar, IISDRS writer, Argentina, Jennifer Lenhart, IISDRS writer, United States/Sweden., and Tristan Tyrrell, IISDRS writer, Ireland

Daily CoverageIntro | 2 Jun | 3 Jun | 4 Jun | 5 Jun | 6 Jun | 7 Jun | 8 Jun | 9 Jun | Summary