ENB:04:05 [Next] . [Previous] . [Contents]


The first item on the agenda was the accreditation of 173 NGOs, as listed in documents A/AC.241/9 and Add.1. INCD Chair Bo Kjell‚n noted the large number of NGOs that had applied for accreditation and was pleased with the interest of the NGO community. The Committee approved the list and Ranil Senanayake, Co-Executive Director of the Environmental Liaison Centre International, thanked the Committee on behalf of the NGOs. The Committee also adopted document A/AC.241/L.5, which granted observer status to the following five intergovernmental organizations: Sahara and Sahel Observatory (OSS); Arab Maghreb Union (AMU); Intergovernmental Authority on Drought and Development (IGADD); Southern African Development Community (SADC); and the Permanent Inter-State Committee for Drought Control in the Sahel (CILSS).