ENB:04:75 [Next] . [Previous] . [Contents]


The Executive Secretary, Hama Arba Diallo said five countries, Cape Verde, Egypt, Mexico, the Netherlands and Senegal had deposited their instruments of ratification. In addition to these, the Secretariat has information that Tunisia has completed the national procedures, and that documents are on their way. The Secretariat is also waiting for communication from countries that are in the process of signing the instruments.

Mauritania, Mali, and Lebanon said they expect to ratify the Convention by the end of 1995, while France, Peru, Germany, Portugal and India expect to do so by the end of 1996. Although Iran, Colombia and Morocco have initiated the ratification process, they were not specific on when they expect to complete it.