ENB:04:77 [Next] . [Previous] . [Contents]


It has now been nearly 16 months since the Convention was opened for signature. As of 19 January 1996, 115 countries had become signatories to the Convention. By 26 January 1996 the following 24 countries had ratified the Convention: Mexico, Cape Verde, the Netherlands, Egypt, Senegal, Ecuador, Lesotho, Finland, Togo, Tunisia, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Uzbekistan, Afghanistan, Peru, Sudan, Canada, Sweden, Denmark, Switzerland, Niger, Mauritius, Bangladesh and Burkina Faso.