ENB:05:15 [Next] . [Previous] . [Contents]


The Commission on Sustainable Development will open its second session this morning. The outgoing Chair of the CSD, Amb. Razali Ismail (Malaysia), will open the session. The first item on the agenda is the election of officers. Klaus T”pfer, Germany's Minister for the Environment, is expected to be elected as the new Chair of the CSD. The remaining members of the Bureau will then be elected. Nitin Desai, Under-Secretary-General for Policy Coordination and Sustainable Development, will deliver an opening statement. The agenda and other organizational matters (E/CN.17/1994/1) will be adopted. After these organizational matters are addressed, T”pfer is expected to invite the ministers of Norway, Sweden and the Netherlands to introduce the reports of the CSD intersessional meetings hosted by their Governments. It is possible that other delegates will report on the intersessional meetings held in their countries. After the presentation of these reports, the floor will be opened for general discussion on progress in the implementation of Agenda 21, focusing on the cross-sectoral components of Agenda 21 and the critical elements of sustainability (Agenda Item 3). This general discussion will continue through Tuesday afternoon.