You are viewing our old site. See the new one here

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google Plus

42nd Session of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC-42)

5-8 October 2015 | Dubrovnik, Croatia

Highlights for Wednesday, 7 October 2015

Download ENB Meeting Report


Receive our ENB bulletins and reports by email:


Photo Usage Information
Climate Change Policy & Practice

Receive emailed updates with the news articles above plus related information and announcements from our CLIMATE-L community mailing list:

Daily Web CoverageAbout | 5 Oct | 6 Oct | 7 Oct | 8 Oct | Summary

Newly elected IPCC Vice-Chairs Ko Barrett, US; Youba Sokona, Mali; and Thelma Krug, Brazil

On Wednesday, 7 October, the 42nd Session of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC-42) continued in Dubrovnik, Croatia. In the morning, the Panel elected Youba Sokona (Mali), Thelma Krug (Brazil) and Ko Barrett (US) as IPCC Vice-Chairs by paper ballot. In the afternoon, the Panel agreed to use the electronic voting system for further voting and commenced with voting for the Working Group and Task Force Bureau Co-Chairs.

Valérie Masson-Delmotte (France) and Panmao Zhai (China) were elected Co-Chairs of Working Group I. Hans-Otto Pörtner (Germany) and Debra Roberts (South Africa) were elected Co-Chairs of Working Group II. Jim Skea (United Kingdom) and P.R. Shukla (India) were elected Co-Chairs of Working Group III. Eduardo Calvo Buendía (Peru) and Kiyoto Tanabe (Japan) were elected Co-Chairs of the Task Force Bureau.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, provided daily web coverage and a summary and analysis report from the 42nd Session of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC-42), which took place from 5 to 8 October 2015 from Dubrovnik, Croatia. Our summary and analysis report is available in HTML and PDF.

Newly Elected Working Group and Task Force Bureau Co-Chairs

Incoming Co-Chairs for Working Group I: Panmao Zhai, China
and Valérie Masson-Delmotte, France

Incoming Co-Chairs for Working Group II: Debra Roberts,
South Africa, and Hans-Otto Pörtner, Germany

Incoming Co-Chair for Working Group III Jim Skea, UK (P.R. Shukla, India, not present)

Incoming Co-Chairs for the Task Force Bureau: Kiyoto Tanabe, Japan, and Eduardo Calvo Buendía, Peru

Newly elected IPCC Bureau members to date (L-R): Jim Skea, UK; Kiyoto Tanabe, Japan; Eduardo Calvo Buendía, Peru;
Thelma Krug, Brazil; Youba Sokona, Mali; Ko Barrett, US; Hans-Otto Pörtner, Germany;
Debra Roberts, South Africa; Panmao Zhai, China; and Valérie Masson-Delmotte, France

Between Sessions

Newly elected IPCC Chair Hoesung Lee (center) stands with his delegation from the Republic of Korea

Everton Lucero, Brazil (center), speaks with incoming IPCC Vice-Chairs Ko Barrett, US (left) and Thelma Krug, Brazil (right)

Delegates meet informally before voting begins

Vicente Barros, Working Group II Co-Chair, speaks with incoming Working Group II Co-Chair Debra Roberts, South Africa, and Carolina Vera, Argentina

Jonathan Pershing, US, speaks with a delegate

Delegates from Region III (South America)

Rob Sturgiss, Australia, speaks with a delegate

Ismail El Gizouli, Acting IPCC Chair, speaks with Andreas Fischlin and José Romero, Switzerland

Delegates from Region VI (Europe)

Voting tellers Leo Meyer, the Netherlands, and Elisabeth Holland,
Federated State of Micronesia, prepare for the start of elections

Karen Dodds and Gregory Flato, Canada

Aoubai Khazndar and Mahmoud Al-Marwani, Qatar

Cheikh Mbow, Senegal (center), speaks with Thomas Stocker, Switzerland (left), and Noureddine Yassaa, Algeria (right)

Around the Venue

Entrance to the Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Around the hotel grounds

Daily Web CoverageAbout | 5 Oct | 6 Oct | 7 Oct | 8 Oct | Summary

IISD Reporting Services is grateful to the many donors of the Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) and recognizes the following as core contributors to the ENB: the European Union, the Finnish Ministry for Foreign Affairs, the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (BMUB), the International Development Research Centre (IDRC), the Japanese Ministry of Environment (through the Institute for Global Environmental Strategies - IGES), the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, SWAN International, Government of Switzerland (the Swiss Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN), the Swiss Agency for Development Cooperation (SDC)), and the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP). Funding for translation of the Bulletin into French is provided by the Government of France, the Wallonia, Québec, and the International Organization of La Francophonie/Institute for Sustainable Development of La Francophonie (IOF/IFDD).