You are viewing our old site. See the new one here

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google Plus

42nd Session of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC-42)

5-8 October 2015 | Dubrovnik, Croatia

Highlights for Thursday, 8 October 2015

Download ENB Meeting Report


Receive our ENB bulletins and reports by email:


Photo Usage Information
Climate Change Policy & Practice

Receive emailed updates with the news articles above plus related information and announcements from our CLIMATE-L community mailing list:

Daily Web CoverageAbout | 5 Oct | 6 Oct | 7 Oct | 8 Oct | Summary

Newly elected IPCC Chair Hoesung Lee, Republic of Korea, gives closing remarks at a press conference

On Thursday, 8 October, the 42nd Session of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC-42) concluded in Dubrovnik, Croatia. Working Group Vice-Chairs were elected in the morning and Task Force Bureau Vice-Chairs were elected in the afternoon.

For Working Group I, Jan Fuglestvedt (Norway), Noureddine Yassaa (Algeria), Fatima Driouech (Morocco), Muhammad Tariq (Pakistan), Carolina Vera (Argentina), Gregory Flato (Canada) and Edvin Aldrian (Indonesia) were elected Vice-Chairs.

For Working Group II, Joy Jacqueline Pereira (Malaysia), Mark Howden (Australia), Sergey Semenov (Russian Federation), Andreas Fischlin (Switzerland), Pius Yanda (Tanzania), Taha Zatari (Saudi Arabia), Carlos Méndez (Venezuela) and Roberto Sanchez-Rodriguez (Mexico) were elected Vice-Chairs.

For Working Group III, Diana Ürge-Vorsatz (Hungary), Carlo Carraro (Italy), Nagmeldin Mahoud (Sudan), Diriba Korecha Dadi (Ethiopia), Amjad Abdulla (Maldives), Ramon Pichs-Madruga (Cuba) and Andy Reisinger (New Zealand) were elected Vice-Chairs.

In the afternoon, the Panel elected Vice-Chairs of the Task Force Bureau (TFB). TFB Vice-Chairs elected are: Darío Gomez (Argentina); Yasna Rojas (Chile); Dominique Blain (Canada); Thomas Wirth (US); Rob Sturgiss (Australia); Fahmuddin Agus (Indonesia); Batouli Said Abdallah (Comoros); Sabin Guendehou (Benin); Irina Yesserkepova (Kazakhstan); Bundit Limmeechokchai (Thailand); Riittaa Pipatti (Finland); and Fatma Betül Baygüven (Turkey).

Following the closing of the elections, the IPCC took up the agenda item on the IPCC Programme and Budget, and under Other Matters they discussed the issue of Special Reports.

IPCC-42 was gaveled to a close at 6:42pm.

For the IISD-RS summary and analysis of IPCC-42 please return to this website on 11 October 2015.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, provided daily web coverage and a summary and analysis report from the 42nd Session of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC-42), which took place from 5 to 8 October 2015 from Dubrovnik, Croatia. Our summary and analysis report is available in HTML and PDF.

Morning Plenary

Acting IPCC Chair Ismail El Gizouli with members of the IPCC Secretariat

Maesela Kekana, South Africa

José Romero, Switzerland

Celso Pazos Alberdi, Cuba

Ákos Lukács, Hungary

Satoshi Tanaka, Japan

Maritza Jadrijevic, Chile

Ben Anthoy Bacar Moussa, Comoros

Syed Atif Raza, Pakistan

Dan Zwartz, New Zealand

Birama Diarra, Mali

Delegates during the morning plenary

Closing Plenary

Panel during the closing session

Ismail El Gizouli, Acting IPCC Chair

Bruce Stewart, Acting IPCC Secretary

Thomas Stocker, Working Group I Co-Chair for the Fifth Assessment Report

Jean-Pascal van Ypersele, IPCC Vice-Chair for the Fifth Assessment cycle

Jonathan Pershing, US

Delegates give Ismail El Gizouli, Acting IPCC Chair, a standing ovation at the close of the meeting

Newly elected IPCC Bureau members, with IPCC Head of Communications and Media Relations
Jonathan Lynn (far right), hold a press conference after the close of the meeting

Between Sessions

Delegates from Region VI (Europe)

Delegates from Region III (South America)

Fifth Assessment Report Working Group I Co-Chairs Dahe Qin, China, and Thomas Stocker, Switzerland (center), with their Technical Support Unit (TSU) (L-R): Gian-Kasper Plattner; Judith Boschung; Melinda Tignor; and Botao Zhou

Mxolisi Shongwe, IPCC Secretariat, speaks with
Lamin Mai Touray, the Gambia

Carolina Vera, newly elected Working Group I Vice-Chair,
with Álvaro Gabriel Zopatti, Argentina

Jonathan Lynn, IPCC Secretariat, speaks with incoming
IPCC Vice-Chair Ko Barrett, US

Participants consult between sessions

Taha M. Zatari, Saudia Arabia

Muhammad Irfan Tariq, Pakistan, speaks with
Abdullah K. Tawlah, Saudi Arabia

Ifeanyi Daniel Nnodu, Nigeria

Raphaël Cuvelier, Monaco, speaks with Bruna Gaino, Belgium

Joao Lona Tchedna, Guinea Bissau

Around the Venue

Around the Valamar Lacroma Hotel grounds

ENB team covering the IPCC-42 meeting: Kiara Worth; Anna Schulz; Deborah Davenport; and Maria Gutierrez

Daily Web CoverageAbout | 5 Oct | 6 Oct | 7 Oct | 8 Oct | Summary

IISD Reporting Services is grateful to the many donors of the Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) and recognizes the following as core contributors to the ENB: the European Union, the Finnish Ministry for Foreign Affairs, the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (BMUB), the International Development Research Centre (IDRC), the Japanese Ministry of Environment (through the Institute for Global Environmental Strategies - IGES), the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, SWAN International, Government of Switzerland (the Swiss Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN), the Swiss Agency for Development Cooperation (SDC)), and the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP). Funding for translation of the Bulletin into French is provided by the Government of France, the Wallonia, Québec, and the International Organization of La Francophonie/Institute for Sustainable Development of La Francophonie (IOF/IFDD).