IISD Reporting Services (IISD RS) Coverage
IISD RS has provided digital photographic coverage of this event.
Summary Report   Summary
24 September   HTML version PDF format
Sign up for ENB
Sign up for CLIMATE-L
Sustainable Development Policy & Practice

2014 Equator Prize Awards Ceremony

22 September 2014 | New York, United States of America

Mary Robinson with Equator Prize winning representative from Indigenous Organizations.
Equator Prize 2014The 2014 Equator Prize Awards Ceremony took place on the evening of Monday, 22 September 2014, at Lincoln Center in New York, US. The event honored twenty-six leaders of local and indigenous communities around the world, whose work to protect environmental resources and sustainably manage natural ecosystems serve as an inspiration to all. Their efforts to address climate change head on and innovate new solutions to issues of food security, land management, and water conservation have led these honorees to be chosen from out of 1,234 global nominations.

The 2014 Equator Prize Awards winners come from grassroots organizations from Nepal to Jamaica, Yemen to Benin, and work on issues such as equitable water distribution, environmental education, sustainable forest management, and wildlife conservation.

The Awards Ceremony featured speeches from UN Messenger for Peace Jane Goodall, Nobel Laureate Al Gore, 350.org Co-Founder Bill McKibben, and UN Special Envoy for Climate Change Mary Robinson, among others, and musical performances by Feist, Justin Vernon of Bon Iver, and Jackson Browne.

Connie Britton, UNDP Goodwill Ambassador, and Edward Norton, UN Goodwill Ambassador for Biodiversity
Helen Clark, UNDP Administrator
Jane Goodall, Founder, Jane Goodall Institute
Vicky Tauli-Corpuz, UN Special Rapporteur
on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples


Jackson Browne

Jeffrey Sachs, Director, Earth Institute of Columbia University
Angel Gurria, Secretary-General, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, and Akwe Amosu, Regional Director for Africa, Open Society Foundations.
Her Majesty Queen Noor of Jordan and Sylvia Earle, National Geographic Explorer in Residence
Johan Rockstrom, Executive Director, Stockholm Resilience Center

Naoki Ishii, CEO, Global Environment Facility (GEF) Secretariat,
and Barbara Hendricks, Federal Minister for the Environment,
Nature Conservation, and Nuclear Safety, Germany
Mary Robinson, UN Special Envoy for Climate Change

Bill McKibben, Co-Founder, 350.org
Justin Vernon of Bon Iver
Charles Ferguson, Academy Award Winning Director

The Honorable Al Gore, Nobel Laureate

Justin Vernon of Bon Iver, Feist, and Jackson Browne


Private Reception
Kimo Goree, IISD RS

Addtional Photos

Funding for coverage of this event has been provided by the UN Development Programme (UNDP)

Related Links
CCAC Resources

*Equator Prize 2014 Website

*Past Prize Cycles

*Equator Prize 2014 Winners

*Equator Prize Website

IISD RS Resources

*SDG - A mailing list focused on internationally-relevant activities related to setting the post-2015 development agenda 

*Sustainable Development Policy & Practice - A Knowledgebase of International Activities following up on Rio+20 and Contributing to the Post-2015 Development Agenda Activities 

*Linkages Update - Bi-weekly International Environment and Sustainable Development News
| Back to IISD RS "Linkages" | Visit IISDnet | Send e-mail to IISD RS |
© 2014
, IISD. All rights reserved.