Highlights and images of main proceedings for 4 October 2016

South Africa


CITES CoP17 delegates reconvened in Plenary to adopt all documents and proposals, with some Parties’ attempts to reopen discussions on Peregrine falcon and African grey parrot defeated. The meeting was gaveled to a close at 6:11 PM.

The sound of the gavel in plenary was reminiscent of the opening ceremony, when delegates drummed in unison and wild enthusiasm, setting the rhythm for the largest CoP to date. Thanks to a highly organized Secretariat, the expert leadership of Committee Chairs, the tireless efforts of drafting and in-session working groups, and the collaborative spirit of Parties, delegates reached consensus on most agenda items and debated on the others in a respectful manner. If this is indeed John Scanlon’s last CITES CoP in the role of Secretary-General, as rumor has it, he will be leaving on a high note.

"Although we were all drumming in a slightly different way," Scanlon noted in the closing ceremony, "we were all drumming to the same beat. That was the spirit of this meeting."

ENB SUMMARY AND ANALYSIS: The Earth Negotiations Bulletin summary and analysis of CoP17 will be available on Saturday, 8 October 2016.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage, daily reports and a summary and analysis report in English and French from CITES CoP17. The summary and analysis report is now available in HTML and PDF.
Photos by IISD/ENB | Kiara Worth
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.


View of the dais during plenary

Edna Molewa, Minister of Environmental Affairs, South Africa

CoP Chair Maite Nkoana-Mashabane, Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, South Africa

Jonathan Barzdo, Chair, Committee II

Karen Gaynor, Chair, Committee I

Craig Hoover, US

Delegates take note of recommendations as they are adopted

Daven Joseph, Antigua and Barbuda

Thea Carroll, South Africa

Elizabeth Taylor Jay, Colombia

Shereefa Al-Salem, Kuwait

Cyril Taolo, Botswana

Basile van Havre, Canada

Øystein Størkersen, Norway

Paul Murphy, Australia

Aurélie Flore Koumba Pambo, Gabon

John Scanlon, Secretary-General, CITES

Ghanim Abdulla Mohammed, Qatar

Ernesto Adobo, Philippines

Shirley Ramírez Carvajal, Costa Rica

Delegates vote on whether to re-open items

Umeed Khalid, Pakistan

Rodrigo Medellin, Mexico

Colman O Criodain,
World Wildlife Fund (WWF)

Susan Lieberman,
Wildlife Conservation Society, US

Will Travers,
Species Survival Network (SSN)

Juney Ward, Secretariat of the Pacific
Regional Environment Programme (SPREP)

Josef Schmuck, Documentation Center for Species Protection

Delegates applaud the conclusion of the meeting

Closing Remarks

A South African singer performs at the closing ceremony

Edna Molewa, Minister of Environmental Affairs, South Africa, thanks delegates for attending the meeting

A glass rhino statue is given in thanks to Committee members

John Scanlon, Secretary-General, CITES, gives gifts of thanks to CoP Chair Maite Nkoana-Mashabane, Minister of International
Relations and Cooperation, South Africa, Committee Chairs Jonathan Barzdo and Karen Gaynor, and Edna Molewa,
Minister of Environmental Affairs, South Africa

Delegates give a standing ovation to John Scanlon, Secretary-General, CITES, for his work at CITES CoP17

A beaded blue crane is handed over to Sunil De Silva, Sri Lanka, to congratulate them on their selection to host the next CoP

CoP Chair Maite Nkoana-Mashabane, Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, South Africa, closes CoP17

World Wildlife Day Awards

John Scanlon, Secretary-General, CITES (L), and Edna Molewa, Minister of Environmental Affairs, South Africa (R),
present awards to the three winners of UN World Wildlife Day poster competition:
Yang Lijie, China (not present); Nabil Mendjeli, Algeria; and Patrick George, UK

Around the Venue

Delegates from Africa

Jonathan Barzdo, Chair, Committee II, and
Karen Gaynor
, Chair, Committee I

Resson Kantai Duff, Save the Elephants

Delegates from Iran

Delegates from Ireland

Delegates from Brazil

Delegates from Guatemala

Delegates from Trinidad and Tobago

Delegates from Sudan

Delegates from the South Pacific stand with the Fiji flag

Tom Milliken, TRAFFIC

Melanie Virtue, Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals (CMS), speaks with a delegate

Delegates wore a variety of animal-themed outfits throughout the week

Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) team covering CITES CoP17: Tanya Rosen; Kate Harris;
Annelies van Gaalen; Bo-Alex Fredvik; Tasha Golberg; and Kiara Worth