Highlights and images of main proceedings for 21 November 2018



Highlights for Wednesday, 21 November 2018

COP 14 participants from civil society and indigenous and local communities paid tribute to environmental defenders who were killed since 2017

On Wednesday, Working Group I addressed several items, including:

  • enhancing integration under the Convention and its Protocols with respect to access and benefit-sharing (ABS);
  • compliance under the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety;
  • cooperation with other organizations under the Convention and its Protocols;
  • review of effectiveness of processes under the Convention and its Protocols;
  • review of progress in the implementation of the Strategic Plan;
  • assessment and review under the Nagoya Protocol; and
  • resource mobilization under the Convention.
  • Working Group II considered:

  • marine and coastal biodiversity;
  • invasive alien species;
  • liability and redress under the Convention;
  • health and biodiversity under the Convention; and
  • unintentional transboundary movements of living modified organisms under the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety.
  • Contact groups on digital sequence information, synthetic biology, and the process for the post-2020 framework met throughout the day.For more details on the day’s events and to hear what delegates said in the corridors, see our daily Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB).

    IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, has provided daily reports, daily web coverage, and a summary and analysis from the 2018 UN Biodiversity Conference.

    Photos by IISD/ENB | Franz Dejon

    For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

    Clare Hamilton, Chair of the Compliance Committee of the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety
    Neil Pratt, CBD Secretariat
    Jyoti Mathur-Filipp, CBD Secretariat
    Hayo Haanstra (the Netherlands), Chair of Working Group I
    Prudence Tangham Galega, Cameroon
    Somaly Chan, Cambodia
    L-R: Aldo Claure and Teresa Perez, Bolivia
    Teona Karchava, Georgia
    Sri Ratnaningsih, Indonesia
    Jerome Smith, Jamaica
    Marco Rebelo, Portugal
    Coumba Toure Kane, ISAAA
    Soseala Tinilau, Tuvalu
    Jorge Ernesto Quezada Diaz, El Salvador
    Arun Kumar Mehta, India
    L-R: Anne Theo Seinen and Tone Smith Spash, EU
    L-R: Clare Hamilton, Chair of the Compliance Committee of the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety, with Christelle Van Wessenbeeck, Ines Verleye, and Kelly Hertweg, Belgium
    Clarissa Nina (Brazil), Chair of Working Group II
    Cristina Romanelli, CBD Secretariat
    Alexander Shestakov, CBD Secretariat
    L-R: Carlos Alberto Cueto Carrión, Peru; Georgina Catacora Vargas, Bolivia; and Edison Mayorga, Venezuela
    Delegates in informal consultations
    Georgina Catacora Vargas, Bolivia
    Daniela Diz, WWF and TNC
    Hesiquio Benitez Diaz, Mexico
    Shirin Karryeva, Turkmenistan
    Delegates in informal consultation on unintentional transboundary movements of living modified organisms
    Lena Chan, Singapore
    Anne Gabrielle Wüst Saucy, Switzerland
    Adam van Opzeeland, New Zealand
    Marie Haraldstad, Norway
    Ricarda Steinbrecher, Federation of German Scientists
    Volodymyr Domashlinets, Ukraine
    José Luis Echeverría Tello, Guatemala
    L-R: Mostafa Madbouhi and Larbi Sbai, Morocco
    L-R: Mohamed Ali Ben Temessek, Tunisia, with Nabil Hamada, Sahara and Sahel Observatory
    Participants from the Indigenous Women's Network on Biodiversity
    Delegates from Honduras, Ecuador, Paraguay and Dominican Republic
    Celebration of the entry into force of the Supplementary Protocol on liability and redress to the Cartegena Protocol on Biosafety


    Negotiating blocs
    European Union