Highlights and images of main proceedings for 26 November 2018



Highlights for Monday, 26 November 2018

Representatives of parties and indigenous peoples and local communities discussing text proposals on biodiversity and climate change in Working Group II.

On Monday, Working Group I addressed cooperation with other conventions, international organizations, and initiatives under the Convention and the Nagoya Protocol on access and benefit-sharing (ABS). Working Group II addressed:

  • spatial planning, protected areas, and other effective area-based conservation measures;
  • biodiversity mainstreaming in the energy and mining, infrastructure, manufacturing and processing sectors;
  • the second work programme of the Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (IPBES); and
  • biodiversity and climate change.
  • Contact groups and Friends of the Chair groups met throughout the day to address:

  • the budget;
  • biodiversity and climate change;
  • marine and coastal biodiversity, including ecologically or biologically significant marine areas (EBSAs);
  • liability and redress under the Convention;
  • digital sequence information under the Convention and the Nagoya Protocol on ABS;
  • resource mobilization and the financial mechanism under the Convention and its Protocols;
  • conflicts of interest under the Convention;
  • risk assessment and risk management under the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety;
  • the post-2020 preparatory process under the Convention; and
  • synthetic biology under the Convention.
  • For more details on the day’s events and to hear what delegates said in the corridors, see our daily Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB).

    IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, has provided daily reports, daily web coverage, and a summary and analysis from the 2018 UN Biodiversity Conference.

    Photos by IISD/ENB | Franz Dejon

    For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

    Hayo Haanstra (the Netherlands), Chair of Working Group I
    Neill Pratt, CBD Secretariat
    L-R: Omar Salem and Ghanim Abdulla, Qatar
    Micaela Bonafina, Argentina
    Vienna Pozer, Canada
    Jing Xin, China
    María Claudia Vélez Crismatt, Colombia
    Dubravka Stepic, Croatia
    Prudence Tangham Galega, Cameroon
    L-R: Norbert Bärlocher and Min Hahn, Switzerland
    Anne Theo Seinen, EU
    Hamdallah Zedan, Egypt
    Yousef Saleh Al-Hafedh, Saudi Arabia
    Emmanuel Bayani Ngoyi, Gabon
    Kone Augustin, Côte d'Ivoire
    Abdullah Alrawahi, Oman
    Clarissa Nina (Brazil), Chair of Working Group II
    Sarat Babu Gidda, CBD Secretariat
    Delegates from Uganda
    L-R: Mustafa Uzun, Serhat Oral, and Elmit Turan, Turkey
    Edison Mayorga, Venezuela
    Carlos Cueta, Peru
    Barbara Engels, Germany
    Chrissy Grant, International Indigenous Forum on Biodiversity
    L-R: Laura Bermudez and Ana María Hernández Salgar, Colombia
    L-R: Natasha Ali, Trevor Sandwith, and Harry Jonas, IUCN
    Jeung Sook Park, Republic of Korea
    Alice Vadrot, University of Vienna, Austria
    L-R: Florina López, Hortencia Hidalgo, and Dali Nolasco Cruz, Indigenous Women's Biodiversity Network
    Maria Kalinina and Julian Jackson, Pew Charitable Trusts
    L-R: Gunn-Britt Retter, Saami Council; Hindou Oumarou Ibrahim, M'Boro Indigenous Women and People Association; and Matilda Mansson, Swedish Sami Parliament
    L-R: Daniela Diz, WWF; Malou van Kempen, WWF; and Carolina Hazin, BirdLife International
    Participants from IUCN
    Horst Korn, Germany, Chair of the contact groups on synthetic biology under the Convention, and risk assessment and risk management under the Cartagena Protocol
    L-R: Hermine Kleymann, Vishaish Uppal, and Lin Li, WWF
    Civil society action opposing gene drives
    Clearing-House Mechanism (CHM) awardees with Sandra Meehan, CBD Secretariat, Han de Koeijer, Chair of the CHM Informal Advisory Committee, and Jyoti Mathur-Filipp, CBD Secretariat
    CHM awardee from Malaysia
    CHM awardee from Indonesia
    CHM awardee from Morocco
    Pavilion displaying Egyptian cultures
    Conference food court


    Negotiating blocs
    European Union