Highlights and images of main proceedings for 27 November 2018



Highlights for Tuesday, 27 November 2018

Contact group on digital sequence information (DSI)

On Tuesday, Working Group I did not meet to allow for contact group discussions. In morning, afternoon and evening sessions, Working Group II addressed:

  • biodiversity mainstreaming in the energy and mining, infrastructure, manufacturing, and processing sectors under the Convention;
  • marine and coastal biodiversity, including ecologically or biologically sensitive marine areas (EBSAs);
  • integration of Article 8(j) (traditional knowledge) under the Convention and its Protocols;
  • conservation and sustainable use of pollinators;
  • invasive alien species; and
  • liability and redress under the Convention.
  • Deliberations continued into the night.

    Contact groups and Friends of the Chair groups met throughout the day to address:

  • digital sequence information;
  • the budget;
  • socio-economic considerations under the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety;
  • the post-2020 preparatory process;
  • resource mobilization and the financial mechanism; and
  • a global multilateral benefit-sharing mechanism under the Nagoya Protocol on access and benefit-sharing.
  • For more details on the day’s events and to hear what delegates said in the corridors, see our daily Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB).

    IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, has provided daily reports, daily web coverage, and a summary and analysis from the 2018 UN Biodiversity Conference.

    Photos by IISD/ENB | Franz Dejon

    For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

    Clarissa Nina (Brazil), Chair of Working Group II
    Jihyun Lee, CBD Secretariat
    L-R: Alexander Shestakov, CBD Secretariat; Clarissa Nina (Brazil), Chair of Working Group II; and Junko Shimura, CBD Secretariat
    WG II delegates discussing compromise language on pollinators
    Jean-Patrick Le Duc, France
    Felicien Amakde, Benin
    Roxana Solis, Peru
    José Luis Echevarría, Guatemala
    Stanley Damane, Lesotho
    Joan Yang, Palau
    Larbi Sbaï, Morocco
    Chinyere Nzeduru, Nigeria
    L-R: Sampson K.P. Chea; J.S. Datuama Cammue; and Michael Garbo, Liberia
    Oswaldo Marquez Uribe, Mexico
    Shaikha Hassan Alshehhi, United Arab Emirates
    Seumalo Afele Faiilagi, Samoa
    Marie-Laetitia Busokeye, Rwanda
    Longin Naayikeza, Burundi
    Jeff Macdonald, Canada
    Alain De Comarmond, Seychelles
    Sophie Mirgaux, EU
    Ahmed Sabah, Iraq
    Desterio Nyamongo, Kenya
    Working Group II in session
    L-R: Joseph Appiott, Jihyun Lee, Jacquie Grekin, and Changsung Lim, CBD Secretariat
    L-R: Lisama Sabry, Ilham Atho Mohamed, and Muhusina Abdul Rahman, Maldives
    L-R: Teona Karchava, Georgia; Julieta Sarno, Argentina; and Johanna Niemivuo-Lahti, Finland
    L-R: Markus Wyss, Michael Muschick, and Anke van den Hurk, International Chamber of Commerce
    Delegates from the Philippines
    L-R: Dao Nguyen, IUCN; Alexander Shestakov, CBD Secretariat; Daniela Diz, WWF; and Günter Mitlacher, WWF
    Delegates from West Africa
    COP 14 local staff
    Replica of the Sharm el Sheikh Convention Center venue of COP 14


    Negotiating blocs
    European Union