Highlights and images of main proceedings for 7 August 2019



Highlights for Wednesday, 7 August 2019

WG III Co-Chair Jim Skea gavels the second Joint Session of Working Groups I, II and III to a close

The 50th session of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC-50) concluded Wednesday, 7 August 2019, with the adoption of the Summary for Policymakers (SPM) of the Special Report on Climate Change and Land (SRCCL). Although the meeting was initially scheduled to end on 6 August, delegates ended up working through the night to reach line-by-line agreement on the SPM in the second Joint Session of IPCC Working Groups (WGs) I, II and III, in cooperation with the Task Force on National Greenhouse Gas Inventories (TFI). The SPM was forwarded to the Panel for adoption. The Panel also accepted the underlying technical report. The SRCCL SPM has four sections:

  • People, land and climate in a changing world;
  • Adaptation and mitigation response options;
  • Enabling response options; and
  • Action in the near term.
  • IPCC-50 also discussed collaboration between the IPCC and the Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (IPBES), and heard oral progress reports on the Synthesis Report of the Sixth Assessment Report and the Task Group on the Organization of the Future Work of the IPCC in light of the Global Stocktake.IPCC-50 concluded at 3:16 pm on Wednesday, 7 August. The ENB Summary and Analysis of IPCC-50 and of the second Joint Session of WGs I, II and III is available in HTML and PDF.

    Photos by IISD/ENB | Mike Muzurakis

    For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

    IPCC Chair Hoesung Lee gavels the meeting to a close.
    WG Co-Chairs and Technical Support Unit (TSU) members conferring with Lead Authors
    WG II Co-Chair Hans-Otto Pörtner
    Ladislaus Chang'a, Tanzania
    IPCC bureau members conferring with Coordinating Lead Authors (CLAs)
    Fatima Denton, CLA
    Jean-Pascal van Ypersele, Belgium
    Jolene Cook, UK
    Trigg Talley, US
    Andrew Ferrone, Luxembourg
    WG II Vice-Chair Andreas Fischlin and WG III Co-Chair Jim Skea
    Zinta Zommers and Jo House, CLAs
    José Romero, Switzerland and Riad Azziz Hirche, Algeria
    WG II Co-Chair Debra Roberts and WG I Co-Chair Valérie Masson-Delmotte, consulting with CLAs
    Izumi Mori, Japan
    Bushra AlHinai, Saudi Arabia
    Cynthia Rosenzweig, CLA
    IPCC Chair Hoesung Lee and IPCC Secretary Abdalah Mokssit
    From L-R: WG II Co-Chair Hans-Otto Pörtner; WG III Co-Chair Priyadarshi Shukla; and Koko Warner, CLA
    Group photo of IPCC Bureau and TSU members, and CLAs
    Contact Group Meetings
    WG III Vice-Chair Mark Howden and Joana Portugal Pereira, WG III TSU
    Christiane Textor, Germany
    Ajay Raghava, India
    Delegates from the US