Non-state Coalition

Scientific and Technological Community

Content associated with Scientific and Technological Community

Filter by:

Highlights and images for 14 July 2017

HLPF 2017

On Friday, the 2017 meeting of the High-Level Political Forum on Sustainable Development (HLPF) started with a session on leveraging interlinkages for effective implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). In the afternoon, a session on science-policy interface and emerging issues was followed by a wrap-up of the week’s events by the President of the UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and the Under-Secretary-General (USG) of the UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA). IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, provided daily web coverage, daily reports from HLPF 2017 and also produced a summary and analysis report, which is available in HTML and PDF. Photos by IISD/ENB | Kiara Worth For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page. Session 15 - Leveraging interlinkages for effective implementation of SDGs View of the dais during the session Debapriya Bhattacharya, Chair, Southern Voices, and Distinguished Fellow, Centre for Policy Dialogue (CPD)  Michel Sidibé, Executive Director, the Joint UN Programme on HIV and AIDS (UNAIDS) Marie Chatardová, Vice President, Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) Charles Arden-Clarke, Head of Secretariat, 10-Year Framework of Programmes on Sustainable Consumption and Production (10YFP) Minh-Thu Pham, Executive Director for Global Policy, UN Foundation Michael Gerber, Special Envoy for Global Sustainable Development, Switzerland Irene Khan, Director General, International Development Law Organization (IDLO) Roberto Olinto, Brazilian Institute of Geography and Statistics (IBGE) Judith Randel, Co-Founder and Executive Director, Development Initiatives (DI) Anil Arora, Chief Statistician, Statistics Canada Jean Christian Razafiarison, Madagascar Sergey Egorenko, Russian Federation Mohammad Ali Zarie Zare, Iran Coulibaly Maïmouna Dramé, Mali Teodor Dulceaţă, Romania Marcos Bonturi, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Anna Ballance, EU Youth delegate Herlinde Baeyens, Belgium Maximilian Mueller, International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Session 16 - Science-policy interface and emerging issues Lead discussants speak from the podium during the session Endah Murniningtyas, National Development Planning Agency, Indonesia Peter Messerli, University of Bern, Switzerland Wang Ruijun, Ministry of Science and Technology, China, and Chair, UN Commission on Science and Technology for Development (CSTD) Cristián Barros Melet, Vice President of ECOSOC Moderator William Colglazier, American Academy for the Advancement of Science Stuart Taberner, Director, International and Interdisciplinary Research, Research Councils United Kingdom (RCUK)  Tolu Oni, University of Cape Town, South Africa Tom Okurut, Uganda Tateo Arimoto, Japan Pam Rajput, Women's Major Group Lucilla Spini, Scientific and Technological Community Taikan Oki, UN University Wrap up session View of the dais during the session Wu Hongbo, UN Under-Secretary-General, Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) Frederick Musiiwa Makamure Shava, Permanent Representative of Zimbabwe to the UN, and President of ECOSOC Around the Venue Members of the Women's Major Group Delegates between sessions Elizabeth Mrema, UN Environment Delegates speak informally A delegate visits the International Institute for Sustainable Development's (IISD) SDG Knowledge Hub, an online resource center for news and commentary regarding the implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, including all 17 SDGs ( Around the UN Headquarters
Daily Highlights