Highlights and images for 11 December 2018




L-R: Co-Chair Kinga Majewska, Ministry of Environment, Poland; Co-Chair Alice Kaudia, Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources, Kenya; Marc Chardonnens, State Secretary, Federal Office for the Environment, Switzerland; and Helena Molin Valdés, Head, CCAC Secretariat

The Tenth High-Level Assembly (HLA) of the Climate and Clean Air Coalition to Reduce Short-Live Climate Pollutants (CCAC) convened in Katowice, Poland, on Tuesday 11 December 2018, in parallel with the 24th session of the Conference of the Parties (COP 24) to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC). The HLA was attended by high-level representatives of governments and international and non-governmental organizations. The Assembly addressed the importance of reducing short-lived climate pollutants (SLCPs) to combat climate change.The HLA was also an opportunity to:

  • Share views on how to increase climate ambition, taking into account the co-benefits for clean air;
  • Finalize the CCAC Talanoa Statement and Joint Statement; and
  • Launch the CCAC Action Programme to Address the 1.5°C Challenge.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB+ Meeting Coverage, provided web coverage from the 10th CCAC High Level Assembly. In addition, IISD Reporting Services published a summary report of the Assembly in HTML and PDF.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Diego Noguera

For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

A view of the room during the event
Co-Chair Alice Kaudia, Kenya
David Paul, Minister of Environment, Marshall Islands
Satya Tripathi, Assistant Secretary-General, UN Environment
Ola Elvestuen, Minister for Climate and Environment, Norway
Emmanuel de Guzman, Secretary of Climate Change, Climate Change Commission, the Philippines
Co-Chair Kinga Majewska, Ministry of Environment, Poland
Delegates watch a video on the CCAC
James Shaw, Minister of Climate Change, New Zealand
Rachel Kyte, Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General for Sustainable Energy for All
Carolina Schmidt, Minister of Environment, Chile
Vincent Biruta, Minister of Environment, Rwanda
Petteri Taalas, Secretary-General, World Meteorological Organization
Yasuo Takahashi, Vice-Minister for Global Environmental Affairs, Ministry of Environment, Japan
Stientje van Veldhoven, Minister for the Environment, the Netherlands
Nezha El Ouafi, Secretary of State for Sustainable Development, Morocco
Maria Helena Semedo, Deputy Director-General, Climate and Natural Resources, Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
Karolina Skog, Minister for the Environment, Sweden
César Ariel Oviedo Verdún, Minister of Environment and Sustainable Development, Paraguay
Jean-Luc Crucke, Minister of Budget, Finance, Energy, Climate and Airports, Wallonia Region, Belgium
Kaarle Kupiainen, Ministry of Environment, Energy and Housing, Finland
Gilles Tonelli, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Monaco
Patricia Fuller, Ambassador for Climate Change, Canada
Ricardo Lozano, Minister of Environment and Sustainable Development, Colombia
Gustave Aboua, Director General, Ministry of Environment and Sustainable Development, Côte d’Ivoire
Bernice Van Bronkhorst, World Bank
Patricia Appiagyei, Deputy Minister of Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation, Ghana
Sergio Sanchez, Undersecretary for Environment, Mexico
Arnico Kumar Panday, International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development
Virginie Dumoulin, Director, European and International Affairs, Ministry of Ecological and Inclusive Transition, France
Marc Chardonnens, State Secretary, Federal Office for the Environment, Switzerland
Manish Bapna, World Resources Institute