Highlights and images for 24 October 2017



The twelfth meeting of the Conference of the Parties (COP12) to the Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals (CMS) resumed on Tuesday, 24 October. The Committee of the Whole (CoW) continued its work in the morning. Participants heard reports from the working groups, and addressed agenda items on: options for a review process for the Convention; implementation of the concerted action process; national reports; national legislation to implement CMS; and terrestrial conservation issues.

In the afternoon, participants resumed their consideration of terrestrial, aquatic, and avian conservation issues.

In a brief ceremony, Sri Lanka, Benin and Brazil signed the MoU on the Conservation of Migratory Sharks (the Sharks MoU). They became the 44th, 45th and 46th signatories, respectively. WWF became the tenth Cooperating Partner to the Sharks MoU.

Burkina Faso became the 58th signatory of the MoU on the Conservation of Migratory Birds of Prey in Africa and Eurasia (Raptors MoU). The Peregrine Fund became the fifth Cooperating Partner to the Raptors MoU.

IIISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage, daily reports, and a summary and analysis report from the CMS COP12. The summary and analysis report is now available in HTML and PDF.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Franz Dejon
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

Committee of the Whole (CoW)

L-R: Bert Lenten, CMS Deputy Executive Secretary; Melanie Virtue, CMS Secretariat; Rod Hay, CoW Chair; and Bradnee Chambers, CMS Executive Secretary

Rod Hay, CoW Chair

Marcel Calvar, Chair of the Credentials Committee

Øystein Størkersen, Chair of the Budget Committee

Alfred Oteng-Yeboah, Chair of the Terrestrial Working Group

Barry Baker, Chair of the Aquatic Working Group

L-R: Elizabeth Mrema, UN Environment; Bradnee Chambers, CMS Executive Secretary; and Francisco Rilla, UN Environment

Chris Wold, CMS Secretariat

Heidi Frisch-Nwakanma, CMS Secretariat

Marku Lamp, Estonia, on behalf of the EU and its 28 Member States

Susan Lieberman, Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS)

Siddhanta Das, India

Jonas Leones, the Philippines

Ndeye Sene Thiam, Senegal

James Njogu, Kenya

Roberto Bosch, Argentina

Germaine Ouedraogo Bouda, Burkina Faso

Hany Muhammed Ali Tatwany, Saudi Arabia

Sarah Ferriss, International Whaling Commission

Nicolas Entrup, OceanCare

Florence Descroix-Comanducci, ACCOBAMS Executive Secretary

Signing of the MoU on Sharks

CMS Executive Secretary Chambers with Gamini Jayawickrama Perera, Minister of Sustainable Development and Wildlife, Sri Lanka

CMS Executive Secretary Chambers with José Pedro de Oliveira Costa, National Secretary for Biodiversity, Brazil

CMS Executive Secretary Chambers with Aristide Comlan Tehou, Benin

CMS Executive Secretary Chambers with Colman O' Criodain, WWF

Signing of the MoU on Raptors

CMS Executive Secretary Chambers with Germaine Ouedraogo Bouda, Burkina Faso

CMS Executive Secretary Chambers with Munir Virani, The Peregrine Fund

Terrestrial Species Working Group

View of the Terrestrial Species Working Group, chaired by Alfred Oteng-Yeboah

CMS COP12 Snapshots

Youth particpants encouraging delegates to save marine species

Local COP12 participants pose with Mundita Lim (center), Department of Environment and Natural Resources, the Philippines

"Beyond Eyes" photo exhibition and competition on nature photography

Participants at the "Beyond Eyes" photo exhibition

Philippine booth at COP12


Negotiating blocs
European Union
Non-state coalitions