Highlights and images for 25 October 2017



The twelfth meeting of the Conference of the Parties (COP12) to the Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals (CMS) resumed Wednesday, 25 October 2017. Participants heard a keynote speech from Erik Solheim, UN Environment Executive Director, and reports from UN Environment, the CMS daughter agreements, and the working groups. The Committee of the Whole (CoW) then continued its work, discussing the remaining aquatic and avian species conservation issues, national reports, synergies and partnerships, and the Strategic Plan for Migratory Species 2015-2023 (SPMS).

In the afternoon, the CoW resumed. Participants discussed: the Manila Declaration on Sustainable Development and Migratory Species; crosscutting conservation issues, including marine debris, climate change, bycatch, and the conservation implications of animal culture and social complexity; the future shape and strategies of CMS and the CMS Family; and taxonomy.

The working groups and the Budget Committee met over the course of the day to continue their work.

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage, daily reports, and a summary and analysis report from the CMS COP12. The summary and analysis report is now available in HTML and PDF.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Franz Dejon
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

Committee of the Whole (CoW)

Erik Solheim, UN Environment Executive Director, delivering a keynote speech

L-R: Bert Lenten, CMS Deputy Executive Secretary; Melanie Virtue, CMS Secretariat; Rod Hay, CoW Chair; Erik Solheim, UN Environment Executive Director; and Bradnee Chambers, CMS Executive Secretary

L-R: Erik Solheim, UN Environment Executive Director, and Bradnee Chambers, CMS Executive Secretary

Elizabeth Mrema, UN Environment

Florence Descroix-Comanducci, ACCOBAMS Executive Secretary

Jacques Trouvilliez, AEWA Executive Secretary

Andreas Streit, EUROBATS Executive Secretary

Nana Kofi Adu-Nsiah, Ghana

Thea Carroll, South Africa

Marcelo Böhlke, Brazil

Juan Miguel Cuna, the Philippines

Margi Prideaux, Wild Migration

Michael Donoghue, Secretariat of the Pacific Regional Environment Programme (SPREP)

Fernando Spina, Scientific Council Chair

Colin Galbraith, CMS Scientific Councillor

Ines Verleye, Belgium

Melanie Virtue, CMS Secretariat

Tilman Schneider, CMS Secretariat

Working Groups

View of the Aquatic Working Group, chaired by Barry Baker, CMS Scientific Councillor

View of the Avian Working Group, chaired by Rob Clay, CMS Scientific Councillor

CMS COP12 Snapshots

COP12 local registration staff pose with Nermalie Lita (center), Department of Environment and Natural Resources, the Philippines

L-R: Kelly Malsch, UNEP-WCMC, and Sarah Ferriss, International Whaling Commission (IWC)

"A Happy Marine Life," an art installation on marine migratory species by Yvette Co and Roel Lazaro

Luggage tags depicting Philippine migratory wildlife


Negotiating blocs
European Union