Highlights and images for 14 July 2017


On Friday, 14 July, delegates met in the informal working group on crosscutting issues, discussing: use of terms, scope and objective of the ILBI, relationship with other agreements; as well as guiding principles and approaches, and international cooperation, for BBNJ conservation and sustainable use.

In the afternoon, plenary resumed to discuss next steps including the convening of an intergovernmental conference and the status of the Chair’s streamlined non-paper.

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage, daily reports, and a summary and analysis report from the 4th Session of the Preparatory Committee Established by the UN General Assembly Resolution 69/292: Development of an International Legally Binding Instrument under the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea on the Conservation and Sustainable Use of Marine Biological Diversity of Areas Beyond National Jurisdiction. The summary and analysis report is now available in HTML and PDF.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Franz Dejon
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

L-R: Gabriele Goettsche-Wanli, Director, UNDOALOS; Barbara Boechat, Brazil; Chair Carlos Sobral Duarte, Brazil; and Charlotte Salpin, UNDOALOS

Metod Špaček, EU

Alice Revell, New Zealand

Matthías Pálsson, Iceland

Audrey Naana Abayena, Ghana

Kabure Yeeting, Kiribati

Josefina Bunge, Argentina

Javier Gorostegui, Chile

Narayanane Saravanane, India

Essam Yassin Mohammed, Eritrea

Khurshed Alam, Bangladesh

Juan Cuéllar Torres, Colombia

Ismail Raushan, Maldives, on behalf of the Alliance of Small Island States (AOSIS)

Margo Deiye, Nauru, on behalf of the Pacific Small Island Developing States

Diedre Mills, Jamaica, on behalf of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM)

Participants at PrepCom 4

Sesselja Sigurdardóttir, Iceland

Pablo Arrocha Olabuenaga, Mexico

Mamadou Diallo, Senegal

Rena Lee, Singapore

Evan Bloom, US

Luis Oña Garcés, Ecuador, on behalf of the G-77/China

Sergey Leonidchenko, Russian Federation

Rogelio Villanueva Jr., the Philippines

Lisa Speer, Natural Resources Defense Council

Zentaro Naganuma, Japan

Hina Saeed Baig, Pakistan

Ma Xinmin, China

L-R: Kristina Gjerde, Cymie Payne, and Hiroko Muraki Gottlieb, IUCN

L-R: Gabriele Goettsche-Wanli, Director, UNDOALOS; Barbara Boechat, Brazil; Chair Carlos Sobral Duarte, Brazil; Alice Hicuburundi, UNDOALOS; and Charlotte Salpin, UNDOALOS

L-R: Javier Gorostegui, Chile, in a conversation with Metod Špaček, EU

Greenpeace images and encouraging messages from the Alboran Sea

Duncan Currie (second from right), Greenpeace, in a discussion with delegates from New Zealand

Delegates from WWF