See more coverage of this event on the main IISD ENB website

We have launched a new website to better share our reports of global environmental negotiations.

As well as current coverage of new negotiations, you can find our original reports from this event by clicking here.

Below are some of the names and faces of key players behind the making of WSSD.
This list is by no means exhaustive, nor complete - please return to this page regularly, as more people will be added.

Jump to: The Bureau - Key figures from the UN - Delegates - NGOs and other stakeholders


Vice-Chair Ihab Gamaleldin, Egypt Vice-Chair Jan Kára, Czech Republic
Vice-Chair Maria Luiza Ribeiro Viotti, Brazil Vice-Chair Richard Ballhorn, Canada
Vice-Chair Diane Quarless, Jamaica Vice-Chair Lars-Göran Engfeldt, Sweden


The Bureau (left to right): Richard Ballhorn, Canada; Ositadinma Anaedu, Nigeria; Maria Luiza Ribeiro Viotti, Brazil; Emil Salim,
Indonesia; Diane Marie Quarless, Jamaica; Lars-Göran Engfeldt, Sweden; Kiyo Akasaka, Japan; Ahmed Ihab Gamaleldin, Egypt;
Ex-officio member Chris Badenhorst, South Africa; and Jan Kara, Czech Republic. Not pictured: Alexandru Niculescu, Romania.


Nitin Desai, Secretary-General for the WSSD Klaus Toepfer, UNEP Executive Director
Jan Pronk, Secretary-General's Special Envoy for the WSSD

Andrey Vasilyev, Senior Officer, DESA

Joanne DiSano, Director, Division for Sustainable Development Adnan Amin, Director, UNEP New York Office 
Alvaro Umaña, Leader, Environmentally
Sustainable Development Group, UNDP
Ian Johnson, Vice President and Network Head, Environmentally and Socially Sustainable Development, World Bank
Mohamed El Ashry, CEO, GEF Mustafa Tolba, Former Executive Director of UNEP


Maurice Strong  


Vali Moosa, South African Environment Minister
Crispian Oliver, South Africa Xolisa Mabhongo, South Africa
David van Hoogstraten, United States Jonathan Margolis, United States

Vicente Vallenilla, Venezuela, G-77/China

Luis Niño, Venezuela, G-77/China

Milos Alcalay, Venezuela, Chairman of G-77 Beat Nobs, Switzerland

Juan Luis Muñoz Laborde, Spain, for the EU

Ramon Oyarzun, Spain, for the EU

The Indonesian delegation at PrepCom I with PrepCom Chair Elim Salim in the center,
Indonesia will host the Fourth session of the PrepCom
Kjetil Paulsen, Norway Mr. Ukita, Japan
Yvan Jobin, Canada Matthew Levin, Canada
Tibor Faragó, Hungary Tuiloma Neroni Slade, Samoa, speaks for the
Alliance of Small Island States (AOSIS)
Khalid Abuleif, Saudi Arabia Everton Vargas, Brazil

Erwin Ortiz Gandarillas, Bolivia

Kerry Smith, Australia


Bedrich Moldan, Czech Republic

Nicholas Kiddle, New Zealand

John Ashe, Antigua and Barbuda

Damaso Luna, Mexico

Maria Luiza Escorel, Brazil

NGOs and other stakeholders

Jocelyn Dow,
Women's Environment and Development Organization

Jacob Scherr, Natural Resource Defence Coucil
Deling Wang,
Solar Cookers International and CSD Energy Caucus
Minu Hemmati, Felix Dodds and Toby Middleton,
Stakeholder Forum for Our Common Future

Solomzi Madikane,
South Africa Civil Society Secretariat for the WSSD

Chee Yoke Ling,
Third World Network


Jan-Gustav Strandenaes, Environmental Liaison Centre International and ANPED

Remi Parmentier,
Greenpeace International
Chief Bisi Ogunleye,
Women's Environment and Development Organization (WEDO)
Minu Hemmati,
Stakeholder Forum for Our Common Future

Tom Goldtooth,
Indigenous Environmental Network

Kaarin Taipale,
International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives

Konrad Otto-Zimmerman,
International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives

Back to ENB's WSSD portal

© 2002, IISD. All rights reserved.