See more coverage of this event on the main IISD ENB website

We have launched a new website to better share our reports of global environmental negotiations.

As well as current coverage of new negotiations, you can find our original reports from this event by clicking here.

12th Session of the UN Forum on Forests (UNFF12)

1-5 May 2017 | UN Headquarters, New York

Highlights for Tuesday, 2 May 2017

Download ENB Meeting Reports

Curtain Raiser --
1 May --
2 May --
3 May --
4 May --

Receive our ENB bulletins and reports by email:


Photo Usage Information
About | 1 May | 2 May | 3 May | 4 May | 5 May | Summary

Moncef Khane, UNFF12 Secretary and Njeri Kariuki, UNFF Secretariat with the SDG5 panel

The twelfth session of the UN Forum on Forests (UNFF12) resumed on Tuesday, 2 May 2017, at UN Headquarters in New York. In the morning, delegates continued their discussions on the implementation of the UN Strategic Plan for Forests 2017-2030 (UNSPF), engaging in a technical discussion and exchange of experiences by taking part in a panel on the contribution of forests to the achievement of Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) 1 (No poverty).

In the afternoon, technical discussions continued with a panel discussion on the contributions of forests to the achievement of SDG5 (Gender equality).

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage, daily reports, and a summary and analysis report from UNFF12.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Francis Dejon
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

L-R: Godwin Kowero, African Forest Forum (AFF); Gerhard Dieterle, Executive Director, International Tropical Timber Organization (ITTO); Uma Lele, Independent Scholar, Keynote Speaker; Wu Zhimin, UNFF Bureau member; Moncef Khane, UNFF12 Secretary; Chip Barber, World Resources Institute (WRI), Moderator; and Frances Seymour, Center for Global Development

Chip Barber, WRI, Moderator

Wu Zhimin, UNFF Bureau member

Gerhard Dieterle, Executive Director, ITTO

Uma Lele, Independent Scholar, Keynote Speaker

Delegates viewed a presentation by Uma Lele, Independent Scholar, Keynote Speaker

Frances Seymour, Center for Global Development

Godwin Kowero, AFF

Delegates viewed a presentation by Frances Seymour, Center for Global Development

Catalina Santamaria, Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) Secretariat

Xiao Wenfa, China

Argyro Zerva, EU

Ismail Parlan, Malaysia

Peter deMarsh, International Family Forestry Alliance, Farmers and Small Forest Landowners Major Group

Armando Alanis, Mexico

Maureen Whelan, Canada

Vladimir Dmitriev, Russian Federation

Hao Ying, International Bamboo and Rattan Organisation (INBAR)

L-R: Cecile Ndjebet, African Women’s Network for Community Management of Forests (REFACOF), Marilyn Headley, Forestry Department, Jamaica, Baudelaire Ndong Ella, UNFF Bureau member, Moncef Khane, UNFF12 Secretary, Njeri Kariuki, UNFF Secretariat, Seemin Qayum, UN Women, and Latha Swamy, Women’s Environment and Development Organization (WEDO)

Seemin Qayum, UN Women

Baudelaire Ndong Ella, UNFF Bureau member

Isilda Nhantumbo, International Institute for Environment and Development (IIED)

Cecile Ndjebet, REFACOF

Marilyn Headley, Forestry Department, Jamaica

Latha Swamy, WEDO

Jessika Carvajal, Colombia

Emma Hatcher, Australia

Katherin Delgado, Peru

Javad Momeni, Iran

Adams Toussaint, Saint Lucia

Björn Merkell, Sweden

About | 1 May | 2 May | 3 May | 4 May | 5 May | Summary
Specific funding for coverage of UNFF12 has been provided by the
European Union (EU) and the International Development Research Centre (IDRC)

IISD Reporting Services is grateful to the many donors of the Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) and recognizes the following as core contributors to the ENB: the EU, the Government of Switzerland (the Swiss Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN)), the Italian Ministry for the Environment, Land and Sea, and the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. General Support for the Bulletin during 2017 is provided by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (BMUB), the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, SWAN International, the Finnish Ministry for Foreign Affairs and the Japanese Ministry of Environment (through the Institute for Global Environmental Strategies - IGES).