Highlights and images of main proceedings for 11 December 2018



L-R: Co-Chair Kinga Majewska, Ministry of Environment, Poland; Co-Chair Alice Kaudia, Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources, Kenya; Marc Chardonnens, State Secretary, Federal Office for the Environment, Switzerland; and Helena Molin Valdés, Head, CCAC Secretariat

The Tenth High-Level Assembly (HLA) of the Climate and Clean Air Coalition to Reduce Short-Live Climate Pollutants (CCAC) convened in Katowice, Poland, on Tuesday 11 December 2018, in parallel with the 24th session of the Conference of the Parties (COP 24) to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC). The HLA was attended by high-level representatives of governments and international and non-governmental organizations. The Assembly addressed the importance of reducing short-lived climate pollutants (SLCPs) to combat climate change.The HLA was also an opportunity to:

  • Share views on how to increase climate ambition, taking into account the co-benefits for clean air;
  • Finalize the CCAC Talanoa Statement and Joint Statement; and
  • Launch the CCAC Action Programme to Address the 1.5°C Challenge.
  • IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB+ Meeting Coverage, provided web coverage from the 10th CCAC High Level Assembly. In addition, IISD Reporting Services published a summary report of the Assembly in HTML and PDF.

    Photos by IISD/ENB | Diego Noguera

    For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

    A view of the room during the event
    Co-Chair Alice Kaudia, Kenya
    David Paul, Minister of Environment, Marshall Islands
    Satya Tripathi, Assistant Secretary-General, UN Environment
    Ola Elvestuen, Minister for Climate and Environment, Norway
    Emmanuel de Guzman, Secretary of Climate Change, Climate Change Commission, the Philippines
    Co-Chair Kinga Majewska, Ministry of Environment, Poland
    Delegates watch a video on the CCAC
    James Shaw, Minister of Climate Change, New Zealand
    Rachel Kyte, Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General for Sustainable Energy for All
    Carolina Schmidt, Minister of Environment, Chile
    Vincent Biruta, Minister of Environment, Rwanda
    Petteri Taalas, Secretary-General, World Meteorological Organization
    Yasuo Takahashi, Vice-Minister for Global Environmental Affairs, Ministry of Environment, Japan
    Stientje van Veldhoven, Minister for the Environment, the Netherlands
    Nezha El Ouafi, Secretary of State for Sustainable Development, Morocco
    Maria Helena Semedo, Deputy Director-General, Climate and Natural Resources, Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN
    Karolina Skog, Minister for the Environment, Sweden
    César Ariel Oviedo Verdún, Minister of Environment and Sustainable Development, Paraguay
    Jean-Luc Crucke, Minister of Budget, Finance, Energy, Climate and Airports, Wallonia Region, Belgium
    Kaarle Kupiainen, Ministry of Environment, Energy and Housing, Finland
    Gilles Tonelli, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Monaco
    Patricia Fuller, Ambassador for Climate Change, Canada
    Ricardo Lozano, Minister of Environment and Sustainable Development, Colombia
    Gustave Aboua, Director General, Ministry of Environment and Sustainable Development, Côte d’Ivoire
    Bernice Van Bronkhorst, World Bank
    Patricia Appiagyei, Deputy Minister of Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation, Ghana
    Sergio Sanchez, Undersecretary for Environment, Mexico
    Arnico Kumar Panday, International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development
    Virginie Dumoulin, Director, European and International Affairs, Ministry of Ecological and Inclusive Transition, France
    Marc Chardonnens, State Secretary, Federal Office for the Environment, Switzerland
    Manish Bapna, World Resources Institute