Highlights and images of main proceedings for 19 September 2018



Highlights for Wednesday, 19 September 2018

The dais during the contact group on PFOA, L-R: Contact group Chair Jean-François Ferry (Canada), Sylvain Bintein (Austria), Valentina Bertato (EU), and Alexander Potrykus (EU)

The fourteenth meeting of the Persistent Organic Pollutants Review Committee (POPRC-14) met for its third day on Wednesday, 19 September 2018.Delegates worked in back-to-back contact groups throughout the day, again focusing on the technical work on POPRC-14’s agenda. Participants started the morning with work on the draft risk profile for perfluorohexane sulfonic acid (PFHxS), its salts, and related compounds, completing their review of the draft risk profile and draft decision by midday.Following these discussions, delegates resumed their work on perfluorooctanoic acid (PFOA), its salts and related compounds, working to strengthen the Committee’s recommendation to the Conference of the Parties to list these substances in the Annexes to the Convention.In the evening, participants began work on the process for evaluating the alternatives, continued use, and need for perfluorooctane sulfonic acid (PFOS), its salts, and perfluorooctane sulfonyl fluoride (PFOSF).

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, provided limited daily web coverage from POPRC-14. In addition, IISD Reporting Services has published a summary and analysis report from the meeting.

Delegates during the contact group discussions on PFOA
Ajeng Arum Sari, Indonesia
Martien Janssen, the Netherlands
A view of the room
The dais consulting during the contact group on PFHxS, L-R: Rikke Donchil Holmberg (Denmark), Trine Celius (Norway), Peter Dawson (New Zealand), and Christel Moræus Olsen (Norway)
The delegation from China
Kei Ohno Woodall, Basel, Rotterdam and Stockholm Conventions Secretariat
Ed Cram, Australia
POPRC members during the session, L-R: Agus Haryono (Indonesia), Amir Nasser Ahmadi (Iran), Helen Jacobs (Jamaica), Mineo Takatsuki (Japan), Caroline Wamai (Kenya), and Mantoa Makoena Clementina Sekota (Lesotho)
Delegates take a water break during the day's proceedings
Jianxin Hu, China


Negotiating blocs
European Union