Highlights and images for 17 July 2018


The High-level Segment/ Ministerial Meeting of HLPF 2018 on Tuesday included three sessions on Voluntary National Reviews (VNRs), where 21 countries presented their reports: Albania, Latvia, Niger, Sudan, Armenia, Ireland, Namibia, Jamaica, State of Palestine, Togo, Bhutan, Uruguay, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Australia, Andorra, Canada, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Lao People's Democratic Republic (PDR), and Senegal.

In the afternoon, the general debate continued in parallel.

For extensive details on the day’s negotiations and to hear what delegates said in the corridors, see our daily Earth Negotiations Bulletin.

Visit our coverage of selected side events at HLPF 2018

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, provided daily digital coverage, daily reports, and a summary and analysis report from HLPF 2018.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Kiara Worth
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

Voluntary National Reviews

View of the Trusteeship Chamber during the VNR presentations

Prime Minister Komi Sélom Klassou, Togo

Denis Naughten, Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment, Ireland

Arvils Ašeradens, Deputy Prime Minister, and Minister for Economics, Latvia

Senida Mesi, Deputy Prime Minister, Albania

Gamal Mahmoud Alrayah, Minister of Urban Planning, Sudan

Álvaro García Rodríguez, Minister of Budget and Planning, Uruguay

Doris Leuthard, Minister of the Environment, Transport, Energy and Communication, Switzerland

Sandith Samarasinghe, Minister Delegate of the Minister of Sustainable Development, Wildlife and Regional Development, Sri Lanka

Aïchatou Boulama Kané, Minister of Planning, Niger

Lyonpo Namgay Dorji, Minister of Finance, Bhutan

Riyad Mansour, Permanent Observer of the State of Palestine to the UN

Gillian Bird, Permanent Representative of Australia to the UN

Ararat Mirzoyan, First Deputy Prime Minister, Armenia

Saleumxay Kommasith, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Lao PDR

Jean-Yves Duclos, Minister of Families, Children and Social Development, Canada

Mame Thierno Dieng, Minister of Environment and Sustainable Development, Senegal

Maria Ubach Font, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Andorra

Pearnel Charles Jr., Minister of State, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, Jamaica

Isidoro Santana, Minister of Economy, Planning and Development, Dominican Republic

Obeth Kandjoze, Minister of Economic Planning and Director-General of the National Planning Commission, Namibia

Hala El Helmy Said, Minister for Planning, Monitoring and Administrative Reform, Egypt

General Debate

Delegates gather for the General Debate

Jerry Matthews Matjila, Vice-President of ECOSOC

Edna Molewa, Minister of Environmental Affairs, South Africa

Kimmo Tiilikainen, Minister of the Environment, Energy and Housing, Finland

Miguel Ángel Moir Sandoval, Secretary of Planning and Programming, Guatemala

Masagos Zulkifli, Minister of Environment and Water Resources, Singapore

Kim Eun-kyung, Minister of Environment, Republic of Korea

Nabeela Tunis, Minister of Planning and Economic Development, Sierra Leone

Around the Venue

Pennelope Beckles, Trinidad and Tobago, speaks with a delegate

Delegates from Turkmenistan

Lynn Wagner and Kali Taylor, International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD)

José da Silva Gonçalves, Minister of Tourism and Transport, and Maritime Economy, Cabo Verde, speaks with a delegate

Grand Chief Wilton Littlechild, Canada

Mohamed bin Ibrahim Yousif Al Mutawa, Minister for Cabinet Affairs, Bahrain

Hoesung Lee Chair, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), seen around the venue

Leslie Wade, UN DESA

Delegates between sessions

'Sustainable Development Geek,' developed by the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation,
is a game inspired by the SDGs with more than 100 questions to test your knowledge and wit

Dark skies are seen from the windows of UN Headquarters as a heavy storm develops in the afternoon