Highlights and images for 17 August 2017



On Thursday, 17 August, the Assembly of the International Seabed Authority (ISA) considered a draft decision on the final report of the first periodic review of the ISA, and a further revised meeting schedule; adopted decisions on financial and budgetary matters and on revised staff regulations; and discussed other matters, such as the election of Morocco to the Council and the proposal to create a museum at the ISA.

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage, daily reports, and a summary and analysis report from the 23rd Annual Session of the International Seabed Authority. The summary and analysis report is now available in HTML and PDF.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Francis Dejon
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

L-R: Alfonso Ascencio-Herrera, Legal Counsel and Deputy to the Secretary-General; Michael Lodge, ISA Secretary-General; Eugénio João Muianga, Mozambique, Assembly President; Chris Brown, ISA Secretariat; and Helmut Tuerk, Austria, Review Committee Chair

Helmut Tuerk, Austria, Review Committee Chair

Eugénio João Muianga, Mozambique, Assembly President

Michael Lodge, ISA Secretary-General

Carlos Alberto Michaelsen den Hartog, Brazil, consulting with Helmut Tuerk, Austria, Review Committee Chair

Ye Mìnn Thein, Myanmar, Credentials Committee Chair

Andrzej Przybycin, Poland, Finance Committee Chair

Sheila Sealy Monteith, Jamaica

Catherine Nyakoe, Kenya

Cecilia Jaber, Mexico

Ana Marie Hernando, the Philippines

Solomon Korbieh, Ghana

Gaia Puleston, Australia

Ariel Fernández, Argentina

Philip Riley, South Africa

John Fintakpa Lamega, Togo

Alexis Eduardo Sandoval Cajar, Panama

Guy Sevrin, Belgium

Kate Neilson, New Zealand

Md. Humayun Kabir, Bangladesh

Duncan Laki Muhumuza, Uganda

Mohammed Atlassi, Morocco

Sellé Mbengue, Senegal

Taiwo Abidogun, Nigeria

L-R: Kenneth Wong, Canada, in a discussion with Helmut Tuerk, Austria, Review Committee Chair

ISA conference services staff

Delegates from Jamaica consulting

L-R: Yedla Umasankar, Maruthadu Sudhakar, and Vijay Kumar, India

L-R: Tevita Suka Mangisi, Tonga; Fitzgerald Jeffrey, Trinidad and Tobago; John Fintakpa Lamega, Togo; and Rose Kautoke, Tonga