Highlights and images for 13 July 2017



Montreal Protocol 30th Anniversary and International Day for the Preservation of the Ozone Layer
The thirty-ninth session of the Open-Ended Working Group of the Montreal Protocol (OEWG 39) convened for its third day in Bangkok, Thailand, on 13 July 2017.

The morning plenary opened with progress reports from the contact groups on data and destruction technologies and on replenishment of the Multilateral Fund (MLF), as well as from informal consultations on nominations for essential use exemptions (EUEs) and critical use exemptions (CUEs). The delegates then discussed a conference room paper (CRP) on process agents before turning to debate two CRPs on energy efficiency, one on technical and financial assistance for Article 5 countries, the other on a possible workshop to discuss the Montreal Protocol's climate and energy co-benefits. The proponents of the two energy efficiency CRPs were asked to consult informally about a possible merger of their proposals.

In the afternoon the contact groups met. The group on MLF replenishment worked on a list of information that parties wished to see in a supplementary report on the replenishment needs from the Technology and Economic Assessment Panel (TEAP) before 29th Meeting of the Parties (MOP 29) in November 2017. The group on data and destruction technologies focused principally on the remaining data reporting issues and the CRP on destruction technologies for hydrochlorocarbons (HFCs).  An informal meeting was also held on a CRP regarding HFCs not listed in the Protocol's Annex F. 

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, has provided daily digital coverage and a summary and analysis report from the Workshop on the Safety Standards Relevant to the Safe Use of Low-GWP Alternatives to HFCs and OEWG 39. The summary and analysis report is now available in HTML and PDF.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Sean Wu
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

Morning Plenary

Co-Chairs Cindy Newberg, US, and Cheikh Ndiaye Sylla, Senegal

Davinder Lail, UK

Emma Rachmawaty, Indonesia

Hammami Youssef, Tunisia

Tom Land, US

Iftikhar-ul-Hassan Gilani, Pakistan

Abderrahim Chakour, Morocco

Tumau Herownna Neru, Samoa

Reine Marie Coly Badiane, Senegal

Eduardo Ganem, MLF

Gudi Alkemade, EU

Leslie Smith, Grenada

Ulises Lovera Gaono, Paraguay

Roksana Tarannum, Bangladesh

Yvette Gauthe Boko, Benin

Mazen Khalil Hussein, Lebanon

Co-Chairs Cindy Newberg, US, and Cheikh Ndiaye Sylla, Senegal, consulting with the Ozone Secretariat

View of the morning plenary

John Thompson, US, chatting with Martin Sirois, Canada

Contact Group on MLF Replenishment

View of the contact group on MLF replenishment

Delegates from the US, Australia and Canada

TEAP Co-Chair Lambert Kuijpers, the Netherlands

Laura Berón, Argentina

Contact Group on Data and Destruction Technologies

View of dais during the contact group on data and destruction technologies

Rosemary Parry, New Zealand

Cornelius Rhein, EU

Around the Venue


Negotiating blocs
European Union