Highlights and images for 6 August 2019



Highlights for Tuesday, 6 August 2019

Huddles convened throughout the day to address various paragraphs of the Summary for Policymakers.

On Tuesday, the second Joint Session of IPCC Working Groups (WGs) I, II and III, in cooperation with the Task Force on National Greenhouse Gas Inventories (TFI), continued consideration of the Summary for Policymakers (SPM) of the Special Report on Climate Change and Land (SRCCL). Delegates met in morning, afternoon and night plenary sessions, as well as in contact groups and huddles to advance work on the SPM.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Mike Muzurakis

For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

From L-R: IPCC Secretary Abdalah Mokssit; IPCC Chair Hoesung Lee; and IPCC Deputy Secretary Kerstin Stendahl during a brief afternoon meeting of the IPCC Plenary
Elisha Nyikadzino Moyo, Zimbabwe
Hamid Abakar Souleymane, Chad
From L-R: John Jende, Maggie Bailey, and WG III Vice-Chair Mark Howden, Australia
Nirivololona Raholijao, Madagascar
Sadegh Zeyaeyan, Iran
WG I Vice-Chair Edvin Aldrian
Huddles convened throughout the day to address various paragraphs of the SPM.
Christiane Textor, Germany
Éric Brun, France
José Romero, Switzerland
WG I Co-Chair Valérie Masson-Delmotte with WG III Co-Chair Jim Skea
Delegates from the US
WG I Co-Chair Valérie Masson-Delmotte consulting with Coordinating Lead Authors (CLAs)
Markku Rummukainen, Sweden
A group of delegates, including Barron Joseph Orr. Lead Scientist, UN Convention to Combat Desertification (UNCCD), supported the UNCCD Land Degradation Neutrality target.
Contact Group Meetings
Elvira Poloczanska, WG II TSU, and Elena Shevliakova, CLA
Christian Müller, Germany, with Ayman Shasly, Saudi Arabia
From L-R: Contact Group Co-chair Hélène Van Rossum, France; Contact Group Co-chair Myung-Chul Seo, Republic of Korea; and Elena Shevliakova, CLA
Onelica Andrade, European Union
Omar Al Mulhem, Saudi Arabia
WG II Vice-Chair Andreas Fischlin
Eric Haxthausen, US


Negotiating blocs
European Union