Highlights and images for 11 October 2017



European Forest Week Las2017On Wednesday morning, in a session chaired by COFFI Chair Marta Gaworska (Poland), Las2017 delegates convened to finish COFFI matters, namely: the Programme of Work and publications 2018-2019; Strategic Framework 2020-2021; election of officers; and the dates and venues of the next COFFI meetings. Canada expressed interest in hosting the 2018 COFFI meeting, and the Russian Federation offered to host the next joint COFFI/EFC session, which will take place in 2019.

During the remainder of the day, delegates addressed EFC matters, in a session chaired by EFC Chair Kenan Kiliç (Turkey) . The following agenda items were addressed: follow-up to the decisions of the 38th session of the EFC; forestry activities of the FAO Regional Office for Europe and Central Asia; establishment of a Forest Invasive Species Network in Europe and Central Asia; progress of Silva Mediterranea and the Working Party on the Management of Mountain Watersheds; forest and landscape restoration works under climate change conditions in the region; strengthening FAO’s work on boreal and temperate forests; the Committee on World Food Security High-level Panel of Experts' study on sustainable forestry for food security and nutrition; and a new strategic document for FAO in forestry.

After the closing of the session, participants enjoyed an evening reception in the lobby of the Novotel Hotel, hosted by the FAO.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB+ Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage and a summary report from Las2017. The summary report is now availavle in HTML and PDF.

Photos by IISD/ENB+ | Sean Wu
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

Morning Session

A room view during the morning session

Delegates from Russian Federation

Matthias Schwoerer, Germany

View of the dais during the morning session

(L-R) Yuriko Shoji, FAO; Ekrem Yazici, FAO; EFC Chair Kenan Kiliç; Peter Pechacek, FAO; and Norbert Winkler, FAO

Norbert Winkler, FAO

Peter Pechacek, FAO

Yuriko Shoji, FAO

Afternoon Session

Peter Csóka, FAO

José Manuel Jaquotot, Chair of Silva Mediterranea

Ekrem Yazici, FAO, and EFC Chair Kenan Kiliç, Turkey

Catherine Rivoal, France

Robert Rezonja, Slovenia

Maria Da Conceição Ferreira, Portugal

Ginevra Bonafede and Insaf Bouguir, European Law Students' Association (ELSA)

Ekrem Yazici, FAO

Shiroma Sathyapala, FAO

Anssi Pekkarinen, FAO

Andrey Kushlin, FAO

Harald Aalde, Norway

Taina Veltheim, Finland

Around the Venue