Highlights and images for 8 October 2016



The resumed session of the thirty-eighth Open-Ended Working Group (OEWG 38) of the Parties to the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer met in Kigali, Rwanda on Saturday, 8 October 2016.

Parties convened to continue and conclude the work of the Contact Group on the Feasibility and Ways of Managing HFCs (HFC Management Contact Group), as agreed to under the Dubai pathway on HFCs (the Dubai pathway). Having concluded work on generating solutions to agreed challenges at the previous OEWG 38 session, the Contact Group resumed discussions on issues related to proposed amendments, including calculation of baselines and commencement years for any freezes and reduction steps.

Plenary briefly reconvened in the evening to hear a report back from the HFC Management Contact Group, noting that the Contact Group’s work will continue during the twenty-eighth Meeting of the Parties (MOP 28), which commences on Monday, 10 October.

OEWG 38 closed at 8:04 pm.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, provided web coverage and a report from the Resumed OEWG38. In addition, IISD Reporting Services provided daily web coverage, daily reports and a summary and analysis report from MOP 28. The summary and analysis report is available in HTML and PDF.
Photos by IISD/ENB | Kiara Worth
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

Morning Plenary and Hydrofluorocarbons (HFC) Management Contact Group

View of the dais during the morning plenary

Tina Birmpili, Executive Secretary, Ozone Secretariat

OEWG 38 Co-Chair Leslie Smith, Grenada

Yaqoub Al-Matouq, Kuwait

OEWG 38 Co-Chair Paul Krajnik, Austria

HFC Management Contact Group Co-Chair ​Patrick McInerney​, Australia

Delegates during the session

Taha Mohammed Zatari, Saudi Arabia

Cheikh Ndiaye Sylla, Senegal

Philip Owen, EU

Sergey Vasiliev, Russian Federation

Iftikhar-ul-Hassan Gilani, Pakistan

Enoh Peter Ayuk, Cameroon

Ahmed El Korashy, Egypt

Manoj Kumar Singh, India

Coletha Ruhamya, Rwanda

Obed Baloyi, South Africa

Laura Juliana Arciniegas, Colombia

Samuel Paré, Burkina Faso

Annie Gabriel, Australia

Rafael Da Soler, Brazil

John Thompson, US

HFC Management Contact Group and Afternoon Plenary

Delegates gather for the afternoon session

HFC Management Contact Group Co-Chair Xia Yingxian, China

Lucie Desforges, Canada

Raad Kadhum Hasan, Iraq

Blaise Horisberger, Switzerland

Idris Abdullahi, Nigeria

Delegates huddle at the close of plenary

Around the Venue

Delegates meet informally before the start of plenary

Delegates speak informally between sessions

Taha Mohammed Zatari, Saudi Arabia, speaks with Iftikhar-ul-Hassan Gilani, Pakistan

Delegates before the morning plenary

Delegates from India

HFC Management Contact Group
Co-Chair ​Patrick McInerney​, Australia

Delegates speak informally

Around the Kigali Convention Centre


Negotiating blocs
European Union