Highlights and images of main proceedings for 14 October 2016



The final day of the twenty-eighth Meeting of the Parties (MOP 28) to the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer convened on Friday, 14 October 2016, in Kigali, Rwanda. The High-Level Segment (HLS) plenary met in the morning, where delegates continued hearing statements from Heads of Delegation, and participated in a ministerial roundtable, ‘Towards an Agreement on a hydrofluorocarbon (HFC) Amendment under the Montreal Protocol: Ensuring benefits for all.'

In the afternoon, the HLS continued with Heads of Delegation statements, following which they adopted the meeting report, where possible. The preparatory segment plenary then reconvened for a stock-taking session.

The HFC Management Contact Group met in the morning, whereafter a small group met to work on a "package deal" on control schedules for an amendment. The Contact Group reconvened later in the day to discuss and approve the "package deal." These discussions are ongoing.

The Budget Committee, the informal group on establishing an ad hoc standards coordination group, and the Contact Group on the MLF Replenishment Study Terms of Reference (TOR) also met during the day.


* 9:16 pm - HFC Management Contact Group completes discussions. The amendment negotiations will resume at midnight, in Plenary.

* 01:01 am - Preparatory Segment plenary reconvenes to hear update from HFC Management CG on progress on an amendment for HFCs. The Co-Chairs commend parties for honoring their commitment to delivering on the Dubai pathway on HFCs.

* 02:49 am - Preparatory Segment plenary still discussing amendment text under the Dubai pathway on HFCs.

* 03:07 am - Plenary is adjourned for informal consultations.

* 03:53 am - The Preparatory Segment plenary resumes to continue discussions.

* 05:07 am - Parties begin discussion of the draft decision on the further amendment of the Montreal Protocol.

* 06:23 am - Plenary is adjourned for informal consultations.

* 06:47 am - Plenary resumes to continue discussions.

* 06:52 am - Delegates conclude discussion on the draft amendment package. Package forwarded to the MOP for adoption.

* 06:54 am - The Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol is adopted.

* 07:37 am - Rwandan-Moroccan proposed CRP on energy efficiency is adopted.

* 08:05 am - MOP 28 President Vincent Biruta closes MOP 28.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, provided web coverage and a report from the Resumed OEWG38. In addition, IISD Reporting Services provided daily web coverage, daily reports and a summary and analysis report from MOP 28. The summary and analysis report is available in HTML and PDF.
Photos by IISD/ENB | Kiara Worth
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

High-Level Roundtable

View of the dais during the High-Level Segment Ministerial Round Table 'Towards an Agreement on the HFC
Amendment under the Montreal Protocol - Part 2: Ensuring Benefits for All'

Martha Garcíarivas, Under-Secretary
for Environmental Protection, Mexico

Norbert Kurilla, State Secretary, Slovakia

Andrew Yatilman,
Federated States of Micronesia

Jay Dev Joshi, Minister of Population
and Environment, Nepal

Batio Bassiere, Minister of
Environment, Burkina Faso

Hakima El Haité, Minister of the Environment, Morocco

Vidar Helgesen, Minister of Climate
and Environment, Norway

Moderator Johnston Barkat, UN Assistant Secretary-General and UN Ombudsman

High-Level Segment Statements

Delegates hear the High-Level Segment statements

Eric Weerawardhana, Private Secretary to the President, Sri Lanka

Kare Chawicha Debessa, State Minister, Ministry
of Environment and Forests, Ethiopia

Francesco La Camera, Director General, Ministry of Environment, Italy

Abdulla Naseer, Senior Policy Executive, Ministry of Environment and Energy, Maldives

Irene Cañas Díaz, Deputy Minister, Ministry of Environment and Energy,
Costa Rica

Hiroyuki Nishiura, Director, Global Environment
Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Japan

Mokhtar Abdul Majid, Deputy Director General,
Department of Environment, Malaysia

André Weidenhaupt, Director General, Department of the Environment, Ministry of Sustainable Development and Infrastructure, Luxembourg

Sin Lan Ng Yun Wing, Director
of Environment, Ministry
of Environment, Mauritius

Afioga Taefu Lemi,
Member of Parliament, Samoa

Tree Planting Ceremony

Dignitaries gather for the tree planting ceremony at the Kigali Convention Centre

Vincent Biruta, MOP 28 President, and
László Sólymos
, Minister of Environment, Slovakia

Elidier Vargas Castro, Costa Rica

Jesús Castillo, Vice Minister, Ministry of Popular Power for Eco-Socialism and Water, Venezuela

Gulshirin Jorayeva, State Committee on Environment Protection and Land Resources, Turkmenistan

OEWG 38 Co-Chair Paul Krajnik, Austria

HFC Management Contact Group

Delegates during the HFC Management Contact Group

Delegates from Russia, Belarus and US speak with
Tina Birmpili, Executive Secretary, Ozone Secretariat

Delegates from Saudia Arabia, Canada and UK confer

HFC Management Contact Group Co-Chairs Xia Yingxian, China, and Patrick McInerney​, Australia;
Tina Birmpili
, Executive Secretary, Ozone Secretariat; Gilbert Bankobeza, Ozone Secretariat; and
Masa Nagai, Senior Legal Advisor, UN Environment Programme (UNEP)

Harry Irawan, Indonesia

Zhou Xiaofang, China

Pak Sokharav Uth, Cambodia

Delegates applaud agreement on key issues

Contact Group on MLF Replenishment Study

Delegates during the Contact Group on MLF Replenishment Study

Gudi Alkemade, EU

S.V. Subbarao, India

Nancy Seymour, Canada

High-Level Segment Plenary

US Secretary of State John Kerry

Mattlan Zackhras, Minister in Assistance in the Office of the President, Marshall Islands

Sirakarn Srilekha, Director of Treaties and International Strategies Bureau, Department of Industrial Works, Thailand

Final Plenary

Delegates during the final plenary

HFC Management Contact Group Co-Chairs Xia Yingxian, China, and Patrick McInerney​, Australia, and Tina Birmpili, Executive Secretary, Ozone Secretariat

Vincent Biruta, MOP 28 President, Rwanda

Gina McCarthy, Administrator, US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) confers with delegates

Andrei Pilipchuk, Belarus

Manoj Kumar Singh, India

Philip Owen, EU

Delegates huddle during an informal consultation

Delegates sign a 'birthday card' to celebrate the
anticipated birth of an amendment on HFCs

Delegates confer

Laura Berón, Argentina

Samuel Paré, Burkina Faso

Sunrise from the Kigali Convention Centre

Delegates applaud the adoption of the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol

MOP 28 is gaveled to a close

Around the Venue

Delegates from Morocco and Saudi Arabia speak between sessions

Delegates from Canada

Delegates from Brazil

Members of the Secretariat confer

Delegates from Djibouti

Delegates from the UK

Delegates between sessions

US Secretary of State John Kerry at the Kigali Convention Centre

Delegates from Kuwait, India, EU and Saudi Arabia

Interpreters during plenary

Media teams record the proceedings

Delegates between sessions

Vincent Biruta, MOP 28 President, Rwanda, leads dignitaries to the tree planting ceremony

Vincent Biruta, MOP 28 President, Rwanda, and Louise Mushikiwabo, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Rwanda

Monique Mukaruriza, Mayor of Kigali, Rwanda

Around the Kigali Convention Centre grounds

The International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD) Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) team covering the meeting:
Annelies Van Gaalen
; Cleo Verkuijl; Keith Ripley; Catherine Wahlén; Kate Helfenstein-Louw; and Kiara Worth


Negotiating blocs
European Union