Highlights and images for 25 May 2016



The Committee of the Whole (COW) Drafting Groups continued to meet at the second UN Environment Assembly of the UN Environment Programme (UNEA-2) on Wednesday. In the COW plenary, all groups reported progress and briefed delegates on outstanding matters to be resolved. Discussions in all three Drafting Groups continued late into the evening.

Two symposia took place during the day, on “Mobilizing Investment for Sustainable Development” and “Environment and Displacement: Root causes and implications.” The Environment Management Group (EMG) launched the UN System-Wide Framework of Strategies for the Environment at a lunchtime event. The Sustainable Innovation Expo (SIE) hosted a Business Dialogue for Environmental Sustainability in the afternoon, and many other events took place around the conference venue.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, has published a briefing note for the GMGSF 2016 and provided daily web coverage, daily reports from the UNEA-2. In addition, IISD Reporting Services has published a summary and analysis report from this meeting, which is available in HTML and PDF format.
Photos by IISD/ENB | Francis Dejon
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.


L-R: Jacqueline McGlade, UNEP; Ibrahim Thiaw, Deputy Executive Director, UNEP; COW Chair Idunn Eidheim, Norway;
Tim Kasten, UNEP; Masa Nagai, UNEP;
and Hushan Al-Fityan, Rapporteur

Ibrahim Thiaw, Deputy Executive Director, UNEP

COW Chair Idunn Eidheim, Norway

Drafting Group 1 Co-Chairs Tita Korvenoja, Finland and Hesiquio Benitez Diaz, Mexico

Drafting Group 3 Co-Chair Mohammed Khashashneh, Jordan

Drafting Group 2 Co-Chair John Moreti,

Drafting Group 3 Co-Chair Corinna Enders,

L-R: Neranda Maurice-George, Saint Lucia; Christopher Cox, UNEP;
and Alistair Edwards, Saint Kitts
and Nevis

Hussein Roshdy, Egypt

Vita Onwuasoanya, UN Division of Ocean Affairs and Law of the Sea (UNDOALOS)

Konrad Paulsen Rivas, Chile

Michèle Rattray-Huish, Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD)

Peter Denton, Regional Representative for North America, Science and Technology Major Group

Lucy Mulenkei, Indigenous Information Network


L-R: Drafting Group 3 Co-Chairs Corinna Enders,
Germany and Mohammed Khashashneh, Jordan;
with Masa Nagai, UNEP

Drafting Group 3 discussses a draft resolution

Delegates during Drafting Group 1 discussions


View of the Symposium on Mobilizing Sustainable Investment

L-R: Eric Usher, UNEP Finance Initiative; Jeremy Ngunze, Kenya; Tumurkhuu Davaakhuu, Mongolia;
Bernard Osawa, Kenya; and Raymond Carlsen, Norway

George Mwangala, Kenya Youth Climate Network

Ayo Olukanni, Fight Against Desert Encroachment (FADE)

Ali Darvishi Boloorani, University of Tehran, Iran

Susanne Homisell, IHS Energy and Samuel Hall

Caroline Usikpedo, Niger Delta Women's Movement for Peace and Development

Marlene Francia, IBON International

Jan Eliasson, UN Deputy Secretary-General

L-R: Yusuf Hassan Abdi, Member of Parliament, National Assembly, Kenya; Anote Tong, Former President of
Kiribati; Robert Glasser, Head, UN Office for Disaster Risk Reduction; and Shamsad Akhtar, Under-Secretary-General of the
UN and Executive Secretary of UN Economic
and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)

Dais during the launch of the UN System-Wide Framework of Strategies for the Environment with (L-R:) Tarja Fernandez, Finland;
Elliott Harris, Secretariat of the Environment Management Group; Franz Perrez, Ambassador
the Environment, Switzerland;
Braulio Ferreira de Souza Dias, Executive Secretary, Convention on Biological Diversity;
and Tim Scott, UNDP

Dais during the Partnership for addressing environmental challenges faced by small island developing states with
(L-R:) Elba Rosa Pérez Montoya, Minister of Science, Technology and Environment, Cuba; Wu Hongbo,
UN Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs; Ahmed Sareer, Permanent Representative of the
Maldives to the UN; and Anote Tong former President of Kiribati


Andrew Revkin, Science and Environment Journalist, New York Times

Amina J. Mohamed, Minister of Environment, Nigeria

L-R: Andrew Revkin, New York Times; Harry Verhaar, Philips Lighting; Jens Holst Nielsen, Confederation of Danish Industry;
Craig Hanson, World Resource Institute; Andia Chakava, New Face New Voices, Kenya Chapter; Esben Lunde Larsen,
Minister of Environment and Food, Denmark; and Jane Nishida, Environmental Protection Agency, US

L-R: Scott Vaughan, President, International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD); Paul Isaac
, CEO, Kiira Motors; and Jane Nyakang'o, Kenya National Clear Production Center

L-R: Sally Lee, Mayor of Sorsogon City, the Philippines; John Alrichs, Planet Labs; Barrie Bain, International
Industry Association; and Daniel Calleja, Director-General, Environment DG, European Commission

Scott Vaughan, President, IISD

Sally Lee, Mayor of Sorsogon City, the Philippines


Non-state coalitions