Highlights and images for 12 July 2018



Delegates to the fortieth meeting of the Open-Ended Working Group to the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer (OEWG 40) continued their deliberations on Thursday, considering the following agenda items:

  • TEAP Report on energy efficiency in the refrigeration, air-conditioning and heat pump (RACHP) sectors as well as the key messages from the workshop on energy efficiency opportunities while phasing down HFCs;
  • Requirements for HCFCs for 2020 to 2030 for non-Article 5; and
  • Global Emissions of CFC-11.

Some of these discussions continued in informal consultations in the evening.

Two contact groups, tasked to reach agreement on details needed for the implementation of the Kigali Amendment, met throughout the day, focusing on clarifying data reporting issues and approving destruction technologies for HFCs. A third contact group, on linkages between HCFCs and HFCs in transitioning to low global warming potential (GWP) alternatives, met in the evening.

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, has providing daily digital coverage and a summary and analysis from OEWG 40.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Mike Muzurakis
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

Plenary Session

View of the dais during the plenary session

OEWG 40 Co-Chair Cindy Newberg, US

OEWG 40 Co-Chair Yaqoub Al-Matouq, Kuwait

Bella Maranion, Fabio Polonara, and Suely Carvalho, Technology and Economic Assessment Panel (TEAP)

Obed Baloyi, South Africa

Nora Al-Otaibi, Saudi Arabia

Wenfu Dong, China

Cheikh Ndiaye Sylla, Senegal

Samuel Pare, Burkina Faso

Philippe Chemouny, Canada

Annie Gabriel, Australia

From L-R: Amna Kazim, UAE; Saad Aldeen AlNumairy, UAE; and Hassan Ali Mubarak, Bahrain

Laura Juliana Arciniegas, Colombia

Kujabi Abubacarr, the Gambia

Hassan Ali Mubarak, Bahrain

Laura Berón, Argentina

Contact Group on Data Reporting Under Article 7 and Related Issues

From L-R: Zhong Zhifeng, China; Martin Sirois, Canada; and Gerald Mutisya, Ozone Secretariat

Cornelius Rhein, EU

Tom Land, US

Radhey Agarwal, India

View of the room during the Contact Group

Contact Group on Destruction Technologies

Bitul Zulhasni, Indonesia, and Ralph Brieskorn, the Netherlands

Cornelius Rhein, EU, with Husamuddin Ahmadzai, Sweden

Augustin Sánchez Guevara, Mexico

Helen Walter-Terrinoni, TEAP

View of the room during the Contact Group

Contact group on HCFCs and HFCs linkages

Philippe Chemouny, Canada, and Obed Baloyi, South Africa

Philip Owen, and Cornelius Rhein, EU

Taha Mohammed Zatari, Saudi Arabia

Ana Maria Kleymeyer, Federated States of Micronesia (FSM)

John Thompson, US

Between Sessions

John Thompson, US, with Taha Mohammed Zatari, Saudi Arabia

Gerald Mutisya, Ozone Secretariat, and Cornelius Rhein, EU

Nadia Sohier Zaman, IISD, and Kevin Mead, Canada

Participants during the lunch break


Negotiating blocs
European Union