Home > RESUMED OEWG 38 | MOP 28

Resumed 38th Meeting of the Open-ended Working Group (OEWG 38) of the Parties
to the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer
and 28th Meeting of the Parties to the Montreal Protocol

8 and 10-14 October 2016 | Kigali, Rwanda

Highlights for Wednesday, 12 October 2016

Download ENB Meeting Reports

OEWG 38 Report
10 Oct
11 Oct
12 Oct
13 Oct

Receive our ENB bulletins and reports by email:


Photo Usage Information
Climate Change Policy & Practice

Receive emailed updates with the news articles above plus related information and announcements from our CLIMATE-L community mailing list:

Daily Web CoverageAbout | 8 Oct | 10 Oct | 11 Oct | 12 Oct | 13 Oct | 14 Oct | Summary
The Resumed Session of the 38th Meeting of the Open-ended Working Group (OEWG 38) begins in Kigali, Rwanda

Delegates huddle to discuss the outcomes of the informal discussions

The twenty-eighth Meeting of the Parties (MOP 28) to the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer met for its third day in Kigali, Rwanda on Wednesday, 12 October 2016.

In the morning, plenary reconvened for a stocktaking session. Issues discussed include, inter alia: consideration of the membership of the Montreal Protocol bodies for 2017; critical-use exemptions (CUEs) for 2017-2018; Terms Of Reference (TOR) for the 2018-2020 Multilateral Fund (MLF) replenishment study; and issues related to the phase-out of HCFCs. Parties also heard a report on progress from the hydrofluorocarbons (HFC) Management Contact Group.

Following plenary’s adjournment, Article 5 and non-Article 5 parties met separately to coordinate positions on an amendment on HFCs. The HFC Management Contact Group met in the evening. The Budget Committee, informal consultations on safety standards and the contact group on the TOR for the 2018-2020 MLF replenishment also took place during the day.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, provided web coverage and a report from the Resumed OEWG38. In addition, IISD Reporting Services provided daily web coverage, daily reports and a summary and analysis report from MOP 28. The summary and analysis report is available in HTML and PDF.
Photos by IISD/ENB | Kiara Worth
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

Morning Plenary

View of the dais during the morning plenary

OEWG 38 Co-Chair Leslie Smith, Grenada

OEWG 38 Co-Chair Paul Krajnik, Austria

HFC Management Contact Group Co-Chair Xia Yingxian, China

Bruce Edwards, Australia

Nancy Seymour, Canada

Hassan Ali Mubarak, Bahrain

Samuel Paré, Burkina Faso

MLF Replenishment Study Contact Group Co-Chair Obed Baloyi, South Africa

Andrei Pilipchuk, Belarus

Taha Mohammed Zatari, Saudi Arabia

Satyendra Kumar Purkayastha, Bangladesh

Ahmed El Korashy, Egypt

Informal Consultations

Delegates during Article 5 coordination discussions

Delegates during non-Article 5 coordination discussions

Informal consultations on safety standards

Budget Committee

Delegates during the Budget Committee

Tina Birmpili, Executive Secretary,
Ozone Secretariat

Andrew Clark, US

Yassin Ahmed, Ozone Secretariat

Annie Gabriel, Australia

Marine Collignon, France

Contact Group on MLF Replenishment Study

Delegates during the Contact Group on MLF Replenishment Study

MLF Replenishment Study Contact Group Co-Chairs Philippe Chemouny, Canada, and Obed Baloyi, South Africa

Mayuka Ishida, Japan

S.V. Subbarao, India

Gudi Alkemade, EU

Elisa Rim, US

Hydrofluorocarbons (HFC) Management Contact Group

Delegates from the Ozone Secretariat, Kuwait, EU, Lebanon, Bahrain, and Saudi Arabia
speak informally before the start of the HFC Management Contact Group

Delegates discuss the proposed outcomes from informal discussions

HFC Management Contact Group Co-Chair ​Patrick McInerney​, Australia

Iftikhar-ul-Hassan Gilani, Pakistan

Laura Berón, Argentina

Blaise Horisberger, Switzerland

Manoj Kumar Singh, India

Brian Ruddie, UK

Delegates during the session

Around the Venue

Delegates meet outside plenary

Delegates from Iraq

Delegates from Indonesia

Delegates from Lebanon

Tina Birmpili, Executive Secretary, Ozone Secretariat, with OEWG 38 Co-Chairs Paul Krajnik, Austria, and Leslie Smith, Grenada, Megumi Seki, Ozone Secretariat, and Yaqoub Al-Matouq, Kuwait

A delegate reads the IISD Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) website to keep track of negotiations

Delegates from Brazil and Saudi Arabia confer

Tilson Kephas, Federated States of Micronesia,
and Augustin Sánchez Guevara, Mexico

Delegates between sessions

Rwandan artifacts on display around the venue

Daily Web CoverageAbout | 8 Oct | 10 Oct | 11 Oct | 12 Oct | 13 Oct | 14 Oct | Summary
Funding for coverage of the Resumed OEWG 38 and MOP 28 has been provided by the European Commission (EC)

IISD Reporting Services is grateful to the many donors of the Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) and recognizes the following as core contributors to the ENB: the European Union, the Government of Switzerland (the Swiss Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN)), the Italian Ministry for the Environment, Land and Sea, and the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. General Support for the Bulletin during 2016 is provided by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (BMUB), the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, SWAN International, the Finnish Ministry for Foreign Affairs, the Japanese Ministry of Environment (through the Institute for Global Environmental Strategies - IGES), the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), and the International Development Research Centre (IDRC). Funding for translation of the Bulletin into French has been provided by the Government of France, the Wallonia, Québec, and the International Organization of La Francophonie/Institute for Sustainable Development of La Francophonie (IOF/IFDD).