You are viewing our old site. See the new one here

African Regional Coverage (ARC)
South Africa’s Department of Environmental Affairs and Tourism (DEAT)
UN Environment Programme’s Regional Office for Africa
Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD)
AMCEN Bulletin
Expert Group Meeting (EGM) Summary
AMCEN-12 daily report -
10 June
Summary and Analysis
View HTML version
View HTML version
View HTML version
Download PDF version
Download PDF version
Download PDF version
Abidjan Convention Report
Tuesday, 10 June 2008
View HTML version
Download PDF version
Sign up for ENB
Sign up for AFRICASD-L
Twelfth Session of the African Ministerial Conference
on the Environment (AMCEN-12)

7-12 June 2008 | Johannesburg, South Africa

Highlights for Sunday, 8 June 2008
View of Johannesburg from the Sandton Convention Centre
The expert group segment of the twelfth session of the African Ministerial Conference on the Environment (AMCEN-12) met throughout the day in three working groups to hear presentations, engage in discussions and work on draft documents. Working Group I (WGI) addressed climate change, Working Group II (WGII) considered the draft indicative work programme (2009–2010), and Working Group III (WGIII) revised the draft Johannesburg Declaration on the Environment for Development.
WGI:  Climate change
Participants in the Climate Change Working Group
Youba Sokona, Sahara and Sahel Observatory (OSS), emphasized AMCEN’s potential role in linking national strategies to international agreements and making the connection between multilateral climate negotiations and concrete action on the continent.
Herbert Acquay, The World Bank, during his presentation on Climate Change Adaptation in Africa.
Hany Shalaby, African Development Bank (AfDB)
Jian Liu, UN Environment Programme (UNEP)
Alf Wills (South Africa)
Hammadi Bel Hadj Ali (Tunisia)
Foday Bojang, African Union Commission (AUC)
Charles Akol, UN Economic Commission for Africa
Louis Léandre Ebobola Tsibah (Gabon)
Gloria Ujor (Nigeria)
Mutsa Chasi (Zimbabwe)
Momodou Jama (Gambia)
Muawia Shaddad, Sudanese Environment Conservation Society
WGII: Draft indicative work programme (2009–2010)
WGII Chair Mohamed Hamouda (Libya)
Strike Mkandla, UNEP
Henry Aryamanya-Mugisha (Uganda)
El Amin El Awad Hug Ahmed (Sudan)
Participants in WGII
WGIII: Draft Johannesburg Declaration on the Environment for Development
Robert Wabunoha, UNEP
WGIII Chair Anadou Maïga (Mali)
Bather Koné, AUC
Participants in the Working Group
TerrAfrica Side Event
L-R: Mohamed Sessay, UNEP; Rudo Makunike, New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD); and Jonathan Allotey, Ghana
Herbert Acquay, The World Bank, stressed the bank’s commitment to addressing sustainable land management (SLM) in Africa in order to promote development at the community level.
Rudo Makunike, NEPAD, highlighted the importance of TerrAfrica’s Strategic Investment Program for SLM in sub-Saharan Africa.
Hany Shalaby, AfDB, outlined various SLM projects that AfDB is currently involved in.
Sekou Toure, Global Environment Facility, noted that the TerrAfrica program has helped to develop similar programs in other regions of the world.
Around the conference
Related Links
UNEP Resources
Ministerial Agenda
Experts Agenda
Report of the Bureau of the AMCEN on the work of its 22nd meeting
Status report on the implementation of the Action Plan for the NEPAD environment initiative - June 2006–May 2008
Status of the general trust fund of AMCEN
Status of implementation of the decisions taken by the 11th session of AMCEN
History of AMCEN
Abidjan Special Conference of Contracting Parties Session

IISD RS Resources
IISD RS summary report of AMCEN-11, 22-26 May 2006, Brazzaville, Republic of the Congo (HTML - PDF)
African Regional Coverage
Linkages Update - Bi-weekly international environment and sustainable development news
MEA-L - A peer-to-peer listserve on multilateral environmental agreements
Climate Change Policy & Practice - A knowledge management project for international negotiations and related activities on climate change
Digimarc and the Digimarc logo are registered trademarks of Digimarc Corporation.  The "Digimarc Digital
Watermarking" Web Button is a trademark of Digimarc Corporation, used with permission.
View HTML version Please e-mail the Digital Editor should you have any questions regarding the content of this page
| Back to ARC home | Back to IISD RS "Linkages" home | Visit IISDnet | Send e-mail to IISD RS |
© 2008, IISD. All rights reserved.