Highlights and images for 6–17 September 2018



A delegate from Cabo Verde casting her vote to determine the IGC Bureau members from the Group of Latin American and Caribbean countries (GRULAC)

Delegates at the Intergovernmental Conference (IGC) on an international legally binding instrument (ILBI) under the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS) on the conservation and sustainable use of marine biodiversity of areas beyond national jurisdiction (BBNJ) continued to exchange views in an informal working group on capacity building and technology transfer, focusing on:

•    modalities;

•    a clearinghouse;

•    monitoring and review; and

•    finance mechanism.For extensive details on the day’s negotiations and to hear what delegates said in the corridors, see our daily Earth Negotiations Bulletin.

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, provided daily reports and daily web coverage from BBNJ IGC 1. In addition, IISD Reporting Services has published a summary and analysis report from the meeting.


Photos by IISD/ENB | Francis Dejon

For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

Delegates conferring prior to the election of IGC Bureau members from GRULAC
IGC President Rena Lee, Singapore
L-R: Gabriele Goettsche-Wanli, Director, UNDOALOS; Alice Hicuburundi, UNDOALOS; and Charlotte Salpin, UNDOALOS
Campaign materials in the IGC plenary
UN staff members with ballot boxes
IGC Informal Working Group Facilitator Olai Uludong, Palau
Mehdi Remaoun, Algeria, on behalf of the African Group
Margo Deiye, Nauru, on behalf of the Pacific Small Island Developing States (PSIDS)
Landisang Kotaro, Palau
Alvaro Dos Santos, Paraguay
L-R: Jung So-hyun and Hwang Junshik, Republic of Korea
Susan Whelan, Holy See
Ismail Raushan Zahir, Maldives, on behalf of the Alliance of Small Island States (AOSIS)
Sergey Leonidchenko, Russian Federation
Marc Richir, EU
Kimberly Louis, Saint Lucia
Diedre Mills, Jamaica
Ma Xinmin, China
Kjell Kristian Egge, Norway
Ariel Cayanan, the Philippines
Crocheted mascot, distributed by the High Seas Alliance
Sibylle Vermont, Switzerland
Evan Bloom, US
María Claudia Vélez Crismatt, Colombia
Tidiani Couma, Monaco
Alfonso Ascencio-Herrera, International Seabed Authority
Fredrik Haag, International Maritime Organization
L-R: John Brincat, EU, in conversation with Alice Revell, New Zealand
L-R: María Claudia Vélez Crismatt, Colombia, in a discussion with Sibylle Vermont, Switzerland
Delegates from China, Iceland, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, and the US consulting