Highlights and images for 7–17 September 2018



L-R: Melanie Virtue, Convention on Migratory Species Secretariat; Takehiro Nakamura, UN Environment Programme; and Charlotte Salpin, UNDOALOS

Delegates at the Intergovernmental Conference (IGC) on an international legally binding instrument (ILBI) under the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS) on the conservation and sustainable use of marine biodiversity of areas beyond national jurisdiction (BBNJ) continued to exchange views in an informal working group on capacity building and technology transfer (CB&TT). The informal working group on area-based management tools (ABMTs) started its work, focusing on:

•    objectives;

•    process; and

•    relationship with other instruments. For extensive details on the day’s negotiations and to hear what delegates said in the corridors, see our daily Earth Negotiations Bulletin.

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, provided daily reports and daily web coverage from BBNJ IGC 1. In addition, IISD Reporting Services has published a summary and analysis report from the meeting.


Photos by IISD/ENB | Francis Dejon

For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

L-R: CB&TT Informal Working Group Facilitator Olai Uludong, Palau; Gabriele Goettsche-Wanli, Director, UNDOALOS; Alice Hicuburundi, UNDOALOS; Vita Onwuasoanya, UNDOALOS; and Stefan Kuuskne, UNDOALOS
Fred Sarufa, Papua New Guinea
Mohamed Lamine Sidibe, Guinea
Margo Deiye, Nauru, on behalf of the Pacific Small Island Developing States (PSIDS)
Yagya Raj Poudyal, Nepal
Dhia Hamad Ajel, Iraq
Matthías Pálsson, Iceland
Rishy Bukoree, Mauritius
Renato Leonardi, Brazil
Sibylle Vermont, Switzerland
Alain De Comarmond, Seychelles
Pablo Arrocha Olabuenaga, Mexico
CB&TT Informal Working Group Facilitator Olai Uludong, Palau
L-R: IGC President Rena Lee and Gabriele Goettsche-Wanli, Director, UNDOALOS
ABMTs Informal Working Group Facilitator Alice Revell, New Zealand
Beverly Wade, Belize, for the Caribbean Community (CARICOM )
Ma Xinmin, China
Le Thi Tuyet Mai, Viet Nam
Mamadou Diallo, Senegal
Martin Zvachula, Federated States of Micronesia
View of the IGC Informal Working Group in session
Kate Neilson, New Zealand
John Brincat, EU
Kjell Kristian Egge, Norway
Cristóbal Hernández Castillo, Chile
Jihyun Lee, Convention on Biological Diversity Secretariat
Desirée Eve Maaño, the Philippines
Sofia Tsenikli, Greenpeace
Carlos Mata, Uruguay
Michael Lodge, Secretary-General, International Seabed Authority
Kent Bressie, International Cable Protection Committee (ICPC)
L-R: ABMTs Informal Working Group Facilitator Alice Revell, New Zealand; Gabriele Goettsche-Wanli, Director, UNDOALOS; Valentina Germani, UNDOALOS
L-R: Harriet Harden, Yubing Shi, Nichola Clark, Robin Warner, and Carole Durussel, Australian National Center for Ocean Resources and Maritime Security (ANCORS)