Highlights and images for 13 December 2017



On Wednesday morning, the tenth meeting of the CBD Working Group on Article 8(j) opened with a Mohawk prayer. Delegates considered the draft Rutzolijirisaxik voluntary guidelines for the repatriation of traditional knowledge of indigenous peoples and local communities (IPLCs) relevant for the conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity; and the glossary of relevant terms and concepts within the context of CBD Article 8(j) and related provisions.

In the afternoon and evening, SBSTTA plenary addressed draft recommendations on: scenarios for the 2050 vision; new and emerging issues; health and biodiversity; the fifth edition of the Global Biodiversity Outlook (GBO 5); and sustainable wild meat. Negotiations continued into the night.

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage, daily reports, and a summary and analysis report from 21st Meeting of the Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice and 10th Meeting of the Ad Hoc Open-ended Working Group on Article 8(j) and Related Provisions of the CBD.The summary and analysis report is available in HTML and PDF.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Francis Dejon
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

Opening plenary of the Article 8(j) Working Group

On Wednesday morning, the tenth meeting of the CBD Working Group on Article 8(j) opened with a Mohawk

Elder Alex Sonny Diabo, Mohawk Nation

L-R: John Scott, CBD Secretariat; Edda Férnandez Luiselli, Mexico, and Yeshing Juliana Upún Yos, Guatemala, Co-Chairs of Working Group on
Article 8(j); CBD Executive Secretary Cristiana Paşca Palmer; and CBD Deputy Executive Secretary David Cooper

CBD Executive Secretary Cristiana Paşca Palmer

CBD Executive Secretary Cristiana Paşca Palmer reffering to the new flag of Montreal, which includes the white pine representing indigenous peoples

Working Group Co-Chair Yeshing Juliana Upún Yos, Guatemala

Working Group Co-Chair Edda Férnandez Luiselli, Mexico

Working Group participants observing a moment of silence in memory of Johan Bodegård, Sweden, and Damaso Luna, Mexico

Sergei Melnov, Belarus, Working Group Rapporteur

John Scott, CBD Secretariat

Holly Jonas, ICCA (Indigenous Peoples' and Community Conserved Areas and Territories) Consortium

Yolanda Teran Maigua, Indigenous Women's Network on Biodiversity from Latin America and the Caribbean

Yousef Saleh Al-Hafedh, Saudi Arabia

Edward Netshithothole, South Africa

Sergio Ortiz, Mexico

Preston Hardison, IIFB

Maria Claudia Velez Crismatt, Colombia

Marcelo Böhlke, Brazil

Sujata Arora, India

Elise Murphy, Australia

Leelo Kukk, EU

Delegates from Indigenous Peoples and Local Communities (IPLCs)

SBSTTA 21 Consideration of Conference Room Papers (CRPs)

L-R: Lisa Janishevski, Sarat Babu Gidda, CBD Secretariat; and SBSTTA 21
Chair Theresa Mundita Lim, the Philippines

Chair Theresa Mundita Lim, the Philippines

Clarissa Nina, Brazil

Kelly Hertenweg, Belgium

Georgina Catacora-Vargas
, Bolivia

Scott Wilson, Canada

Gabriele Obermayr, Austria

Anne Theo Seinen, EU

Yoshiki Takahama, Japan

Jeanette Florita, the Philippines

Noor Noor
, Nature Conservation Egypt

SBSTTA 21 Snapshots

Delegates from Canada consulting

Delegates from China, Japan and the Republic of Korea

CBD Secretariat staff

L-R: Nermalie Lita, the Philippines; Alexander Shestakov, WWF; SBSTTA 21
Chair Theresa Mundita Lim, the Philippines; and Clarissa Arida, ASEAN Centre for Biodiversity (ACB)