Highlights and images for 26 July 2018



Highlights for Thursday, 26 July 2018

Mariusz Orion Jędrysek, Assembly President, gavels the meeting to a close.

On Thursday, 26 July, the Assembly of the International Seabed Authority (ISA), adopted:

  • the strategic plan (2019-2023) with some amendments;
  • a decision to prepare a high-level action plan with performance indicators and outputs; and
  • the budget for 2019-2020.
  • The Assembly also filled the vacancies on the Council for a four-year period. President Jędrysek drew the meeting to a close at 3:45pm.ENB Summary and Analysis: The Earth Negotiations Bulletin summary and analysis of the 2nd Part of the 24th Session of the International Seabed Authority will be available on Sunday, 29 July 2018 on this website.

    IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB+ Meeting Coverage, provided daily digital web coverage and daily reports in English and French from ISA-24.

    Photos by IISD/ENB | Diego Noguera

    Delegates discuss the 2019-2023 ISA Strategic Plan
    Maruthadu Sudhakar, India
    Linlin Li, China
    Khurshed Alam, Bangladesh
    Michael Lodge, ISA Secretary-General
    Ariel Fernández, Argentina
    Philomène Verlaan, Sargasso Sea Commission
    Tomasz Grysa, Holy See
    Michelle Walker, Jamaica
    Carlos Alberto Michaelsen den Hartog, Brazil
    Vladimir Vinokurov and Alexey Orel, Russian Federation
    Duncan Currie, Deep Sea Conservation Coalition
    Urs Daniel Engels, Chair of the Credentials Committee
    Patrik Schotte, Belgium; Tom de Wachter, Global Sea Mineral Resources (GSR); Daniele Bosio, Italy; and Kenneth Wong, Canada
    Wini Broadbelt (left), the Netherlands, in discussions with Elisa Morgera, ENB
    L-R: Luke Tang, Singapore; Tomoko Tauchi, Mitsuru Kayama and Tetsuya Yoshimoto, Japan
    L-R: Mariusz Orion Jędrysek, Assembly President; Alexey Orel and Vladimir Vinokurov, Russian Federation
    Representatives from the Latin American and Caribbean Group (GRULAC) discuss amendments to the 2019-2023 ISA Strategic Plan.
    Kate Neilson, New Zealand; and Amadou Jaiteh, The Gambia
    Kjell Kristian Egge, Norway; and Tom Diederen, the Netherlands
    L-R: Josh Mitchell, Cook Islands; Michael Lodge, ISA Secretary-General; and Michael Henry, Cook Islands
    The Nigerian delegation
    Ernesto Malda, Mexico; and Carlos Alberto Michaelsen den Hartog, Brazil
    Group photo of delegates at the end of the meeting
    Delegates from the Pacific Islands
    Tom Diederen, Wini Broadbelt, and Laurens de Jonge, the Netherlands
    The delegation from Tonga with Michael Lodge, ISA Secretary-General
    Representatives from the Caribbean at the end of ISA-24
    Gaowen He and Zhuo Xiaojun, China
    Xiao Wang and Mara Wendebourg, ISA Secretariat
    Around the Venue
    L-R: Diego Noguera, Lynn Finnegan, Elisa Morgera, ENB; Michael Lodge, ISA Secretary-General; Nicole de Paula, ENB; Alfonso Ascencio-Herrera, ISA Legal Counsel and Deputy to the Secretary-General; and Jean-Christophe Vandevelde, ENB