Highlights and images for 3 April 2017


On Monday, 3 April, delegates to the third session of the Preparatory Committee on the elements of a draft text of an international legally binding instrument on the conservation and sustainable use of marine biodiversity of areas beyond national jurisdiction (PrepCom 3) convened in the informal working group on capacity building and technology transfer (CB&TT) in the morning. The informal working group on cross-cutting issues, facilitated by Chair Sobral Duarte, met for the rest of the day, addressing the scope of a new legally binding instrument, its relationship with other instruments and its possible institutional arrangements.

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, has providing daily web coverage, daily reports and a summary and analysis report from the 3rd Session of the Preparatory Committee Established by the UN General Assembly Resolution 69/292 “Development of an International Legally Binding Instrument under the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea on the Conservation and Sustainable Use of Marine Biological Diversity of Areas Beyond National Jurisdiction.” Our summary and analysis report is available in HTML and PDF.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Franz Dejon
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

L-R: Gabriele Goettsche-Wanli, Director, UN Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea (UNDOALOS); Rena Lee, Singapore, Facilitator of the informal working group on capacity building and transfer
of marine technology; and Alice Hicuburundi, UNDOALOS

Peter Haugan, Chair of Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC)

Mehdi Remaoun, Algeria, on behalf of the African Group

Juliette Babb-Riley, Barbados, on behalf of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM)

Shara Duncan, Costa Rica

Margo Deiye, Nauru, on behalf of the Pacific Small Island Developing States (PSIDS)

Lucía Raffin, Argentina

Carl Grainger, EU

Angel Horna, Peru

Evan Bloom, US

Takehiro Nakamura, UN Environment

Kristina Gjerde, IUCN

Blaise Kuemlangan, Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN (FAO)

Alain Tellier, Canada

Kjell Kristian Egge, Norway

Rogelio Villanueva Jr., the Philippines

Peni Suveinakama, Fiji

Diedre Mills, Jamaica

L-R: Gabriele Goettsche-Wanli, Director, UNDOALOS; Chair Carlos Sobral Duarte, Brazil; Alice Hicuburundi, UNDOALOS; and Charlotte

Efraín Baus Palacios, Ecuador, for the G-77/China

Pablo Arrocha Olabuenaga, Mexico

Djamchid Momtaz, Iran

Ramalingam Kirubagaran, India

Larisa Chernysheva, Russian Federation

Daniela Diz, WWF

Delegates from Spain consulting

Leonito Bacalando Jr.
, Federated States of Micronesia, consulting with the Philippines

L-R: John Brincat, EU; Pablo Arrocha Olabuenaga, Mexico;
Gina Guillén-Grillo
, Costa Rica

L-R: Sergey Leonidchenko, Russian Federation, in conversation with Evan Bloom, US

Delegates from the Philippines