Highlights and images for 5 April 2017


On Wednesday, 5 April, the plenary of the third session of the Preparatory Committee on the elements of a draft text of an international legally binding instrument on the conservation and sustainable use of marine biodiversity of areas beyond national jurisdiction (PrepCom 3) convened throughout the day.

On area-based management tools (ABMTs), including marine protected areas (MPAs), delegates discussed three options: a global model, establishing a global institution to consider and decide on ABMT proposals; a hybrid model, reinforcing regional and sectoral organizations’ mandates through regional coordination mechanisms, and providing global guidance to enhance cooperation and global-level implementation oversight; and a regional and sectoral model, recognizing regional and sectoral bodies’ authority for decision making, monitoring and review of ABMTs with the ILBI providing general policy guidance to promote cooperation, without global-level oversight. On environmental impact assessments (EIAs), delegates discussed: assessing transboundary impacts, strategic environmental assessments, scientific review and consultation, other governance aspects and a clearinghouse mechanism.

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, has providing daily web coverage, daily reports and a summary and analysis report from the 3rd Session of the Preparatory Committee Established by the UN General Assembly Resolution 69/292 “Development of an International Legally Binding Instrument under the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea on the Conservation and Sustainable Use of Marine Biological Diversity of Areas Beyond National Jurisdiction.” Our summary and analysis report is available in HTML and PDF.

Photos by IISD/ENB | Franz Dejon
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page

Alice Revell, New Zealand, Facilitator of the informal working group on ABMTs, including MPAs

Kjell Kristian Egge, Norway

Lois Young, Belize

Cristóbal Hernández Castillo, Chile

Rishy Bukoree, Mauritius

Michael Googan, Australia

Hina Saeed Baig, Pakistan

Zentaro Naganuma, Japan

Rolando Castro, Costa Rica

Essam Yassin Mohammed, Eritrea

L-R: Sophie Mirgaux and John Brincat, EU

Djamchid Momtaz, Iran

José Luis Fernández Valoni, Argentina

Matthías Pálsson, Iceland

Kate Neilson, New Zealand

Larisa Chernysheva, Russian Federation

Coumba Gaye, Senegal

Takehiro Nakamura, UN Environment

Sora Lokita, Indonesia

Chair Carlos Sobral Duarte, Brazil

Duncan Muhumuza Laki, Uganda

Lizanne Aching, Trinidad and Tobago

Margo Deiye, Nauru, on behalf of the Pacific Small Island Developing States

Ariel Cayanan
, the Philippines

Ma Xinmin, China

Martin Zvachula, Federated States of Micronesia

Wini Broadbelt, EU

L-R: Gabriele Goettsche-Wanli, Director, UN Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea (UNDOALOS); Chair Carlos Sobral Duarte, Brazil; Alice Hicuburundi, UNDOALOS; and Charlotte

Delegates from the EU consulting

Asheline Appleton, IISD RS, confers with Kjell Kristian Egge, Norway

Evan Bloom, US, in conversation with delegates from Mexico