Highlights and images for 11 April 2016



On Monday, 11 April 2016, the 43rd session of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC-43) opened in Nairobi, Kenya. The IPCC adopted its agenda, approved the draft report of the 42nd session, and commenced work on the agenda items regarding the IPCC programme and budget and admission of observer organizations. On the programme and budget, the Panel called upon the Financial Task Team (FiTT) to further consider the issue and report back to the Panel on Wednesday, 13 April. The IPCC also took up the update of methodologies on national GHG inventories, adopting the relevant report.

In the afternoon, the Panel opened two sub-agenda items under the Sixth Assessment Report (AR6) on special reports (SRs) and strategic planning. On strategic planning, the Secretariat will present a draft proposal on Tuesday, 12 April, capturing the views expressed. Discussions on the AR6 SRs will continue.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, has produced daily web coverage and a summary and analysis report from IPCC-43, which is available in HTML and PDF formats.
Photos by IISD/ENB | Kiara Worth
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

Morning Plenary

Panel speakers during the opening plenary

Hoesung Lee, IPCC Chair

Achim Steiner, Executive Director, UNEP

Charles Sunkuli, Ministry of Environment, Natural Resources
and Regional Development Authorities, Kenya

David Carlson, World Meteorological Organization (WMO)

Mannava Sivakumar, Acting IPCC Secretary

Trigg Talley, US

Raphaël Cuvelier, Monaco

Jean-Pascal van Ypersele, Belgium

Karen Dodds, Canada

Khalid Abuleif, Saudi Arabia

Akio Takemoto, Japan

Lutz Morgenstern, Germany

José Romero, Switzerland

Jacqueline McGlade, UNEP

Birama Diarra, Mali

Øyvind Christophersen, Norway

Guilherme do Prado Lima, Brazil

Kiyoto Tanabe, Task Force Bureau Co-Chair

Afternoon Plenary

View of the dais during the afternoon plenary

Hoesung Lee, IPCC Chair

Carlos Martin-Novella, IPCC Deputy Secretary

David Reidmiller, US

Valérie Masson-Delmotte, Working Group I Co-Chair

Jim Skea, Working Group III Co-Chair

P.R. Shukla, Working Group III Co-Chair

Debra Roberts, Working Group II Co-Chair

Cathy Johnson, UK

Hans-Otto Pörtner, Working Group II Co-Chair

Hoon Park, Republic of Korea

Celso Pazos Alberdi, Cuba

William Hare, Saint Lucia

Konrad Paulsen, Chile

Omer Mohamed Eltom Elshami, Sudan

IPCC Secretariat during the afternoon plenary

Around the Venue

Delegates during the morning plenary

José Romero, Switzerland (center), speaks with delegates

Debra Roberts, Co-Chair for Working Group II, speaks with
Florin Vladu
, Adaptation Programme Manager, UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC)

Delegates meet informally before the start of plenary

Delegates between sessions

Dan Zwartz, New Zealand, with Jesbin Baidya, IPCC Secretariat,
and Elhousseine Gouaini, WMO

Hoesung Lee, IPCC Chair (center), speaks with Sophie Schlingemann, IPCC Legal Officer (left) and Mannava Sivakumar, Acting IPCC Secretary (right)

Achim Steiner, Executive Director, UNEP, walks with Ibrahim Thiaw, Deputy Executive Director, UNEP

Around the UNEP grounds