Highlights and images for 12 April 2016



On Tuesday, 12 April 2016, the 43rd session of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC-43) continued in Nairobi, Kenya. In the morning, discussions continued on the agenda sub-item on special reports (SRs). Following debate, a contact group was established to discuss which themes to address in SRs, a roadmap for inclusion of those not selected into the Sixth Assessment Report (AR6), and options for a possible regional report. The IPCC then considered the future of the Task Group on Data and Scenario Support for Impacts and Climate Analysis (TGICA).

In the afternoon, the IPCC considered reports, including on: communication and outreach activities; the status with respect to the establishment of the Technical Support Units (TSUs); the 27th Task Force Bureau (TFB) Meeting; the 13th Editorial Board Meeting for the Emissions Factor Database (EFDB); the TGICA Expert Meeting; the Task Force on Implementation (TFI) Expert Meeting to Collect EFDB and Software Users Feedback; and the Expert Meeting on Communication.

The IPCC also considered items on: procedural matters, including the review of the IPCC Conflict of Interest Policy, and the size, composition and structure of a future Bureau; matters related to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) and other international bodies, in particular follow up to the 21st Conference of the Parties to the UNFCCC (COP 21); communications for AR6; the IPCC library facility; the IPCC scholarship programme; and the decision pathway for consideration of requests for access to information or meetings.

The contact group on SRs reported back to the plenary in the afternoon and reconvened in the evening. The IPCC plenary also reconvened in the evening to continue discussion on the decision pathway for consideration of requests for access to information and meetings.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, has produced daily web coverage and a summary and analysis report from IPCC-43, which is available in HTML and PDF formats.
Photos by IISD/ENB | Kiara Worth
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

Morning Plenary

View of the dais during the morning plenary

Mannava Sivakumar, Acting IPCC Secretary

Hoesung Lee, IPCC Chair

José Romero, Switzerland

Jacqueline McGlade, UNEP

Karen Dodds, Canada

Amparo Martínez Arroyo, Mexico

Sanja Pavicevic, Montenegro

Aziz Elbehri, Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN (FAO)

Andrea Tilche, EU

Helen Plume, New Zealand

Álvaro Gabriel Zopatti, Argentina

Ali Shareef, Maldives

Frances Veronica Victorio, the Philippines, speaking on behalf of the
Climate Vulnerable Forum (CVF)

Marcus Mayr, UN-HABITAT

Rajan Mungra, Mauritius

Rob Sturgiss, Australia

Rabelani Tshikalanke, South Africa

Afternoon Plenary

Delegates during the afternoon plenary

Jonathan Lynn, IPCC Secretariat

Kiyoto Tanabe, Task Force Bureau Co-Chair

Carlos Martin-Novella,
IPCC Deputy Secretary

David Reidmiller, US

Eduardo Calvo Buendía,
Task Force Bureau Co-Chair

Christiane Textor, Germany

Cathy Johnson, UK

Khalid Abuleif, Saudi Arabia

Nirivololona Raholijao, Madagascar

Arona Ngari, Cook Islands

Youba Sokona, IPCC Vice-Chair and
Conflict of Interest Committee Chair

Simon Eggleston, Global Climate Observing System (GCOS)

Nana Seo, Republic of Korea

Emmanuelle Pinault, C40 Cities, and Yunus Arikan, Local Governments for Sustainability (ICLEI)

Contact Group on Special Reports

Delegates gather for the contact group on special reports

Delegates during the contact group

Youba Sokona and Ko Barrett, IPCC Vice-Chairs,
co-chaired the contact group

Members of the Chinese delegation

Delegates meet between contact group sessions

Working Group III Bureau members consult

Around the Venue

The IPCC Secretariat

Jim Skea, Working Group III Co-Chair, speaks with a delegate

Ko Barrett, IPCC Vice-Chair, speaks with Karen Dodds, Canada, and Carlos Martin-Novella, IPCC Deputy Secretary

Andreas Fischlin, Vice-Chair Working Group II, speaks with José Romero, Switzerland, and Florin Vladu, Adaptation Programme Manager, UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC)

Sophie Schlingemann, IPCC Legal Officer, Hoesung Lee, IPCC Chair, Mannava Sivakumar, Acting IPCC Secretary, and
Jinmi Kim, Special Assistant to the IPCC Chair

Delegates speak informally

A delegate between sessions

Working Group Co-Chairs arrive for the afternoon session

Delegates enjoy the UNEP grounds between sessions

Around the UNEP grounds


Negotiating blocs
European Union