Highlights and images for 15 March 2018



IPCC-47 resumed its work on Thursday, and addressed, inter alia:

  • Aligning the work of the IPCC with the needs of the Global Stocktake (GST) under the Paris Agreement;
  • Report of the Conflict of Interest Committee;
  • Review of the principles governing IPCC work;
  • Gender;
  • Report of the Ad Hoc Task Force on the Future of the Task Group on Data and Scenario Support for Impact and Climate Analysis (ATF-TGICA);
  • Participation of developing countries in IPCC activities; and
  • Matters related to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) and other international bodies.

A contact group was established and met to discuss the proposed task group and Terms of Reference on alignment of work of the IPCC with the GST. The Financial Task Team and a contact group on gender met during the day, and informal consultations took place on the IPCC Scholarship Programme.

More detail about these discussions will be included in the ENB Summary report, which will be published on Monday, 19 March 2018.

IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) meeting coverage, has provided daily digital coverage and a summary and analysis report from IPCC-47. The PDF version is available here.

Photos by IISD/ENB
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage page.

View of the dais during the plenary session

Hoesung Lee, IPCC Chair, and Abdalah Mokssit, IPCC Secretary

Working Group II Vice-Chair Sergey Semenov, Russian Federation

María Amparo Martínez Arroyo, Mexico

Abdelrahman Al-Gwaiz, Saudi Arabia

Working Group I Vice-Chair Edvin Aldrian, Indonesia

Working Group II Vice-Chair Andreas Fischlin

From L-R: IPCC Vice-Chair Youba Sokona; IPCC Vice-Chair Ko Barrett; and IPCC Vice-Chair Thelma Krug

Yun Gao, China

Mxolisi Shongwe, IPCC Secretariat

Éric Brun, France

Birama Diarra, Mali

Alice Alpert, US

Jakub Gibek, Poland

Oksana Ekzarkho, IPCC Secretariat

Abdalah Mokssit, IPCC Secretary

From L-R: Hoesung Lee, IPCC Chair; Kerstin Stendahl, IPCC Deputy Secretary; and Taha Zatari, Saudi Arabia

Frank McGovern, Ireland

Sheida Asgharzadeh Ghahroudi, Iran

Christian Müller, Germany

Laird Shutt, Canada

From L-R: Taha Zatari, Saudi Arabia; Hamoud Al-Otaibi, Saudi Arabia; and Abdelrahman Al-Gwaiz, Saudi Arabia

Jaivardhan Ramanlal Bhatt, India

Bhye Muslim Heetun, Mauritius

Florin Vladu, UNFCCC

Maesela Kekana, South Africa

José Romero, Switzerland, and Krešo Pandžić, Croatia

Delegates from the EU consulting

Around the venue

A view of the Eiffel Tower from the UNESCO Headquarters

Spiral, by Alexander Calder

Reclining Figure, by Henry Moore

Study for Wind Comb, by Eduardo Chillida


Negotiating blocs
European Union