Highlights and images for 4 March 2019



Highlights for Monday, 4 March 2019

UNEA-4 On Monday, the Open-Ended Committee of Permanent Representatives (OECPR) began discussions in Nairobi, Kenya, in preparation for the fourth session of the UN Environment Assembly (UNEA-4) the following week. OECPR Chair Francisca Ashietey-Odunton, Ghana, welcomed delegates, who then adopted the agenda and organization of work.In the morning, delegates considered a series of reports from the UNEP Secretariat, and discussed UNEP’s budget and programme performance, including implementation of previous UNEA resolutions. In the afternoon, plenary consultations took place on the ministerial declaration to be adopted at UNEA-4.Throughout the day, delegates convened in five working groups to begin negotiations on the proposed resolutions to be put forward at UNEA-4.Highlights of the day included deliberations and debates in plenary and in working groups on:

  • possible action on marine litter and microplastics, drawing on programme reports from UNEP;
  • the nature of links between deforestation and agricultural supply chains;
  • the potential for global governance of geoengineering technologies;
  • the scope for “clean mobility” in transport systems; and
  • actions to promote sustainable coral reefs management.
  • For more details on the day’s negotiations and to hear what delegates said in the corridors, see our daily Earth Negotiations Bulletin.

    IISD Reporting Services, through its Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) Meeting Coverage, provided daily web coverage, daily reports, and a summary and analysis report from OECPR-4 and UNEA-4, which is available in HTML and PDF.

    Photos by IISD/ENB | Mike Muzurakis

    For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

    Plenary Session
    Chair Francisca Ashietey-Odunton, Ghana
    Joyce Msuya, Acting Executive Director, UN Environment Programme (UNEP)
    Julia Pataki, Romania
    Zerubabel Getachew, Ethiopia, and Rajesh Swami, India
    Ulf Björnholm, UNEP, and Marek Rohr-Garztecki, Poland
    Fernando Coimbra, Brazil, with Martin Gómez Bustillo, Argentina
    Ghita Luminita and Dorin-Octavian Corcheş, Romania
    Martin Gómez Bustillo, Argentina
    Zerubabel Getachew, Ethiopia
    Abdullah Tawlah, Saudi Arabia
    Claire Blanchard, NGOs Major Group
    Milorad Šćepanović, Montenegro, with Jorge Laguna-Celis, Secretary, Secretariat of Governing Bodies, UNEP
    Georgina Catacora-Vargas, Plurinational State of Bolivia
    Aire Rihe, Estonia

    Delegates conferring during lunch break
    Working Group 1 - Innovative Solutions for Environmental Challenges and Sustainable Consumption and Production
    Working Group 2 - Resource Efficiency, Chemicals and Waste
    Working Group 3 - Ecosystems and Biodiversity Management and Protection
    Working Group 4 - Environmental Governance
    Co-facilitator Agus Justianto, Indonesia

    Adam Maïga Zakariaou, Niger
    Working Group 5 - UNEP Programme of Work and Related Issues
    Co-facilitators Miriam Ott, Germany, and Marta Juárez Ruiz, Costa Rica
    Ulf Björnholm, UNEP, and Fernando Coimbra, Brazil
    Around the Venue


    Non-state coalitions