Highlights and images for 1 September 2016


On Thursday, 1 September, the informal working group on capacity building and technology transfer met in the morning to continue discussions on technology transfer, institutional arrangements and funding.

The plenary reconvened for the rest of the day to discuss possible areas of convergence and areas for further discussion based on the report from the informal working group on marine genetic resources, including benefit-sharing.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage, daily reports and a summary and analysis report in English and French from the 2nd Session of the Preparatory Committee Established by the UN General Assembly Resolution 69/292 “Development of an International Legally Binding Instrument under the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea on the Conservation and Sustainable Use of Marine Biological Diversity of Areas Beyond National Jurisdiction.”
Photos by IISD/ENB | Mike Muzurakis
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

Vita Onwuasoanya, UN Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea (UNDOALOS), and Gabriele Goettsche-Wanli, Director, UNDOALOS

Zakieh Taghizadeh and Momtaz Djamchid, Iran

Lucía Raffin, Argentina

Evan Bloom, US

Prim Masrinuan, Thailand for the Group of 77 and China

Hiroko Muraki Gottlieb, International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)

Angel Horna, Peru

Rishy Bukoree, Mauritius

Carlos Sobral Duarte (Brazil), Facilitator of the informal working group on marine genetic resources

From L-R: Gabriele Goettsche-Wanli, Director, UNDOALOS; Rena Lee (Singapore), Facilitator of the informal working group on capacity building and transfer of marine technology; Alice Hicuburundi, UNDOALOS; and Vita Onwuasoanya, UNDOALOS

Josh Mitchell, Cook Islands

Diedre Mills, Jamaica

Stefán Ásmundsson, North-East Atlantic Fisheries Commission, and Driss Meski, International Commission for the Conservation of Atlantic Tunas

Participants consulting

Chair Eden Charles, Trinidad and Tobago

Matthías Pálsson, Iceland

Anca Leroy, EU

Sidney Kemble, the Netherlands, with Gina Guillén-Grillo, Costa Rica

Sonoko Ichimura, and Zentaro Naganuma, Japan

Participants networking during the lunch break

John Brincat, EU, and Zentaro Naganuma, Japan

Margo Deiye, Nauru

Carmen Mifsud, Malta

Khurshed Alam, Bangladesh

From L-R: Joelle CasanovaTidiani Couma and Florian Botto, Monaco

Exhibitions inside the UN Headquarters: Refugees