Highlights and images for 31 August 2016


On Wednesday, 31 August, the second session of the Preparatory Committee (PrepCom 2) on the elements of a draft text of an international legally binding instrument under the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS) on the conservation and sustainable use of marine biodiversity of areas beyond national jurisdiction (BBNJ) met briefly in plenary in the morning.

The informal working group on environmental impact assessment (EIA) also met in the morning, to continue a discussion of EIA governance and exchange views on strategic environmental assessment. The informal working group on capacity building and technology transfer met for the rest of the day, to consider principles and approaches, as well as specific proposals.

IISD Reporting Services, through its ENB Meeting Coverage, has provided daily web coverage, daily reports and a summary and analysis report in English and French from the 2nd Session of the Preparatory Committee Established by the UN General Assembly Resolution 69/292 “Development of an International Legally Binding Instrument under the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea on the Conservation and Sustainable Use of Marine Biological Diversity of Areas Beyond National Jurisdiction.”
Photos by IISD/ENB | Mike Muzurakis
For photo reprint permissions, please follow instructions at our Attribution Regulations for Meeting Photo Usage Page.

Evan Bloom, US, and Zentaro Naganuma, Japan

Driss Meski, International Commission for the Conservation of Atlantic Tunas, and Mohamed Atlassi, Morocco

Rishy Bukoree, Mauritius

Alice Revell, New Zealand

Martin Zvachula, Federated States of Micronesia

Kjell Kristian Egge, Norway

Charlotte Salpin, UN Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea (UNDOALOS), and Chair Eden Charles, Trinidad and Tobago

Zakieh Taghizadeh and Momtaz Djamchid, Iran

Rena Lee (Singapore), Facilitator of the informal working group on capacity building and transfer of marine technology

Tidiani Couma, Monaco, and Kimo Goree, Vice-President, IISD

Gina Guillén-Grillo, Costa Rica

Lizanne Aching, Trinidad and Tobago

Alice Hicuburundi, UNDOALOS

Thembile Joyini, South Africa

Catherine Boucher, Canada

Wini Broadbelt, EU

Mehdi Remaoun, Algeria

Marcia Rochina, Ecuador

Prim Masrinuan, Thailand for the Group of 77 and China

James Ndirangu Waweru, Kenya

Chair Eden Charles, Trinidad and Tobago, with Janine Coye-Felson, Belize

Jung So-hyun, Republic of Korea

Juliette Babb-Riley, Barbados

Christopher Katota, Zambia

Xinmin Ma, China

Ismail Raushan, Maldives

Fred Sarufa, Papua New Guinea

Essam Yassin Mohammed, Eritrea

Despina Boubalos, Greece, and Sofia Tsenikli, Greenpeace

Wini Broadbelt and René Lefeber, the Netherlands

Mehdi Remaoun, Algeria, with the delegation of Monaco

Exhibitions inside the UN Headquarters: SDGs